The 14 Setapp macOS applications I use regularly

Chris Chinchilla
Mac O’Clock
Published in
8 min readJul 29, 2023

--

Welcome to Setapp Month! I have been a user of Setapp for quite a while now, almost ever since the service launched, and I visited Macpaw’s offices in Kyiv, touring their awesome Apple museum and meeting the office cats. Setapp is a macOS and iOS application subscription service, where for $9.99 a month, you get access to dozens of applications, large and small, complex and simple, old favourites and new arrivals.

An Apple Newton in MacPaw’s office

If you like what you read and want to get your hands on a Setapp subscription to try some of those applications, then follow my referral link to get started, much appreciated 🙇!

This is a free post where I will cover all the applications included in Setapp that I use semi-regularly. For the simpler applications, I will cover how I use them. For the more complex applications, I will cover how I use them in more detail in future posts throughout the month.

Bartender

I have a love-hate relationship with the macOS menu bar. I am a fan of easy-to-access options and toggles for system and application features, but I like to keep a tidy desktop and watching those menu bar icons slowly arch across gives me palpitations. And now, with Macs that have notches, menu bar real estate is even tighter. There are a handful of applications that give you better control of the menu bar…

--

--

Chris Chinchilla
Mac O’Clock

Writer, podcaster, and video maker covering technology, the creative process, board and roleplay game development, fiction, and even more.