The Writer’s Computer: iPad

Why the iPad (Pro) is the best computer for writers.

Akshay Gajria
Mac O’Clock

--

Story Time:
My first computer was a tower PC. Windows 98. I quite liked the fact that there was a dedicated desk for my computer. But eventually, those tower PCs were replaced by laptops. It’s only in offices, media houses, or gaming setups that you find a tower PC. I’ve used a laptop for years. I love it’s mobility. Still, I try to keep my machine on my desk and work. The lap-ability of a device does not impress me. I find a desk from which I can work very comforting. The entire experience of having a monitor which is eye level, a separate mouse and a separate keyboard — it’s old school, but really conducive to working.

With a laptop on a desk there are some compromises, especially when it comes to writing. The keyboard is attached to the screen and there is little flexibility. Plus the screen height is not the most ergonomic. It works, but isn’t comfortable. The laptop I own since 2014 is the MacBook Air 11" from early 2014. It’s a good machine, still works well, but it had a lot lacking.

Here are the things I require from my device:
1. Ergonomics
2. Mobility
3. Software
4. Reading
5. Ecosystem
6. Power

I’ve always entertained an idea of owning a desktop computer, like an iMac. But in India, iMacs were kept to rotating…

--

--