This Is the Worst Apple Product I Have Ever Purchased

Mark Ellis
Mac O’Clock
Published in
5 min readFeb 15, 2021

--

Image courtesy of author

Last week, my lightning to 3.5mm audio cable arrived from Apple. It cost £35 (although they were kind enough to include free delivery).

It is, hands-down, the worst product I have ever bought from Apple.

In fact, it’s so bad, that I barely want to look at it. I don’t really want to think about it, either, which makes writing this article a little tricky, if I’m honest.

But I feel I need to. And if you think this is an overreaction, I should perhaps explain why this little 1.2m auxiliary cable has left such a sour taste in my mouth.

Why did I buy Apple’s audio cable?

I own a pair of AirPods Max. I think they’re great, and believe they do provide plenty of bang-for-buck for a very specific audience.

However, unlike every other pair of over-the-ear headphones that have entered my studio, AirPods Max didn’t come with an auxiliary cable. Granted, these are definitely wireless-first headphones, but so too are the Sony WH-1000XM4s, and, at half the…

--

--

Mark Ellis
Mac O’Clock

Tech reviewer. Join my newsletter list for a weekly behind-the-scenes video of a tech content creator! ⬇️ https://markellisreviews.ck.page/newsletter