My three months with Readwise Reader

Simon Theakston
Mac O’Clock
Published in
8 min readDec 17, 2022

--

Readwise Reader (image courtesy of readwise.io)

This week saw Readwise move their latest app (named “Reader”) out of private beta and into the public domain.

Given that it is now available to all, I thought it might be interesting to have a look at how the app works and how I’ve been using it for the last three months.

Background

Readwise has been central to my data capture workflow for over two years. It captures highlights from books I read, re-surfaces them to me daily and automatically exports those highlights into Obsidian to allow me to generate book notes.

Over the last year or so, other third-party apps have built integrations into Readwise meaning that I can now collect highlights from other mediums such as Podcasts (using Snipd) and Twitter.

Capturing highlights from articles on the web and newsletters was always a bit of a problem though. That’s why I was hugely excited when Readwise announced around eighteen months ago that they would be building a “Read-it-Later app for power readers” which would integrate with the core Readwise app.

I signed up for the private beta straight away, but it was only at the beginning of September this year that I was given access — and I’ve been putting it through its paces ever since.

So what has got me excited?

--

--

Simon Theakston
Mac O’Clock

I write about the skills, growth and businesses that I'm building. And the technology that is supporting me in getting there.