Using The iPad Magic Keyboard For A Month - Is This The Best Accessory Of Apple?

Yash Lalwani
Mac O’Clock
Published in
4 min readMar 26, 2021

I have been using the iPad Pro 11" for about 2 years now, and yes it is the fastest product of Apple that I have ever used, i bought it in 2018 and after 2 years also I feel like this product needs no replacement, the 120hz screen refresh rate makes it smoother than other Apple device and yes this product is a complete package.

I bought this product for my college, instead of buying a laptop I chose this product as I always wanted a handy and a easy to go product for my college life, I also bought the smart keyboard for my iPad at that time and the feel of the smart keyboard was not good at all, keys were not clicky and satisfying and it had a major flaw, TRACKPAD.

When Apple announced the Magic Keyboard, it ticked every box in my list, it had a track pad it had a backlit keyboard and it looked good, but what stopped me was the price of that product, the price was kept so high by the company that I was not sure that it was worth it. The price of this product in India is $385, and after student discount I was getting it for about $360. I dropped the plan of buying it, I never went to the store to try the product, until last month. After seeing the product, the feel of it, impressed me, and I chose the online option to buy the keyboard. I bought it for $360, using my Unidays student discount.

After using it for about a month, I am very satisfied with the purchase, yes there are some flaws, but overall experience is 9.5/10. I will tell you what I liked about the product and also the flaws.

FLAWS.

  1. The weight of the iPad is 468 grams, but with the case it feels like I am a holding a laptop, in short the product becomes less handy. The weight of the iPad 1.07 Kg, yes the case is heavier than the iPad itself.
  2. Rubber feel, the iPad case is covered with a rubber like structure, I mean at this price I wanted a product with leather feel to it. This makes the case easier to scratch.
  3. The Price, no matter what, when it comes to pricing Apple nails it to the top, the price is way too high for the product, 360 bucks for a keyboard, half the price of the iPad. Yes it’s way too high.
  4. Still Cannot Replace Laptop, after investing a good amount in the iPad, it’s a bitter truth, that it cannot replace a laptop, if you are buying this product so that you can replace the position of laptop with the iPad, you are getting it wrong. So, make sure for what’s the purpose behind your buy.

That’s all in for the Flaws of the Keyboard.

Pic Courtesy : Apple

Things that I liked about the keyboard.

  1. Still very handy, if we keep the weight of the product aside, this product is very handy if we compare it to a perfect laptop, yes it is very easy to hold, it is still very convenient as compared to the MacBook and yes it is an easy to go product.
  2. Looks Great, no matter what you say about Apple, but when it comes to designing of the product the company nails it every time, the way iPad floats on the keyboard looks very elegant and satisfying, and yes if you’re using it in a coffee shop or while waiting on an Airport, you’ll get noticed.
  3. Key’s Are Satisfying, the quality of the keys is too satisfying and feels “clicky”. You’ll feel like you are typing on a MacBook’s keyboard. It’s good to see that Apple has not compromised in the quality of the keys.
  4. A Special Charging Slot, there’s another charging slot on the side of the keyboard, which makes it easier to charge the iPad while using, and it feels like a laptop, which is a good thing and an excellent design.
  5. Hinge, there are two hinges in the product, and both the hinges hold it perfectly, they are neither too tight to open, nor to loose, when it comes to hinge the build quality is excellent.

Overall I liked the product and yes I will definitely recommend it to those who are just willing to upgrade their iPad using experience. This product is not for those who are trying to replace their laptop.

The iPad experience becomes twice as good when this accessory is attached, I normally use it for web surfing, netflix, zoom calls, project stuff on keynote and numbers, the iPad handles it very well.

This Magic Keyboard Case is compatible with iPad Pro 11" & 12" (2018 & 2020) and iPad Air (2020).

-By Yash Lalwani

--

--