We Want to Turn iPads into Macs, Apple Still Wants You to Buy Both

WWDC2021 and iPadOS 15 are killing my dream of replacing my Mac with an iPad

Charles Tumiotto Jackson
Mac O’Clock

--

Photo by Faith Stocksey from Pexels

I have been a hardcore iPad user since the 2018 iPad Pro came out.

I loved the product. I loved the display. I loved all the possible workflows. I loved using the Apple pencil for photo work. I loved how the design of iPadOS makes you more productive by limiting distractions and multitasking capabilities.

My dream was to replace my Mac with the iPad.

The iPad is lighter, smoother, and more pleasant to use than a regular computer in my opinion.

I wrote a few articles about turning my iPad Pro into my main computing device, and it made me realize how much people were wanting to do the same thing.

There is a giant community of creatives online that love using the iPad and that wished that it could do as much, if not more, than their regular computer.

And for a while, it seemed like Apple was trying to turn the iPad into more of a computer.

Take the Magic keyboard for example. It adds a full trackpad and a keyboard to your iPad. Giving you the same interface than a MacBook while giving you the looks of…

--

--

Charles Tumiotto Jackson
Mac O’Clock

Content Marketer, willing to put the “social” back in Social Media. Let's talk about Social Media Marketing → thesocialacorn.com