What I HATE About My MacBook Pro After a Year

I’m not trying to be a complainer, but…

Michael Swengel
Mac O’Clock

--

Image provided by the author

Just over a year ago, I bought my 14-inch MacBook Pro with the M1 Pro chip, and it’s served me well. But as much as I love my MacBook Pro (and have written about that fact), there are a few things about it that I just can’t excuse.

For some people, these things may be deal breakers. But some of you will no doubt wonder what I’m on about this time and walk away shaking your head. Either is fair.

And to be clear, I do like my MacBook Pro, and I would definitely buy one again. But, Apple, I have a few thoughts.

Shiny keys syndrome

It’s a fact of life for MacBooks that after a short period of time, their keys start to wear and get shiny. No, it’s not dirt. It’s not oil. It’s caused by the ABS plastic of they keyboard’s keycaps wearing ever so slightly.

This is something that Mark Ellis and others have pointed out, and they’re right. It is a problem, but it shouldn’t be.

I noticed mine starting to exhibit signs of wear after about two weeks of owning my Mac. Frustrated, I immediately tried to find a solution. A keyboard cover isn’t a great idea because that can put pressure on the display when the laptop is closed — potentially leaving marks…

--

--

Michael Swengel
Mac O’Clock

11+ years experience working in the IT field. Loves writing about Apple, Artificial Intelligence, Microsoft and other relevant tech and productivity topics.