What’s on my Mac?

Little tools, big productivity gains.

Studiolektrik
Mac O’Clock
3 min readApr 18, 2020

--

1 | PDF Toolbox

The little tool is something I bought about 6 years ago, and it still works. You can edit, cut and paste PDF files together. Super easy, and it really works.

PDF Toolbox

2 | The unarchiver

Extract and compress files, easily. Apparently, it’s the most downloaded utility app on Mac.

The Unarchiver

3 | Itsycal

A tiny calendar in your menu bar, that I use on a daily basis. So much quicker than opening your full calendar app. Link

Itsycal

4 | Pock

Oh my god, Pock. So simple, yet so good. Pock makes the touch bar great again. The tool show the dock in the touch bar, basically. At the moment, I have it setup with my open apps (as the dock) and lock screen, brightness, and volume rocker. I cannot stress this enough: Pock is the best.

Hats of to the developer. It’s free too.

The Pock is the Dock.

5 | Telegram

Telegram is a great messaging app, that resides on my phone. It’s perfect to send photo’s and texts to yourself too, when AirDrop inexplicably fails to work.

Sending a telegram in 2020 is easy.

6 | Rotato

Rotato is a tool can helps to make great product shots of user interfaces on devices. It’s a great way to impress on your next presentation.

You don’t have to be an expert in After Effects to create stunning mock-ups, Rotato does the job for you.

Rotato Potato

7 | Unsplash wallpapers

While I usually have some artsy black and white snowboarding, cycling or skateboarding pic as my wallpaper, Unsplash is my favourite free-to-use site full of lovely images.

They have a mac app that can automatically switch your wallpaper.

Bonus: check out their well-designed iOS app too.

Unsplash

8 | Magnet

Windows management on Mac isn’t great (pun intented). But Magnet snaps your windows, just like that.

Snap it like you mean it.

9 | Spark

Spark is an easy email client, that separates newsletter and other bullshit from my actuals emails. It just works great, looks great and very easy to use.

I use it on iOS daily as well.

Spark (watchOS, iOS, MacOS, iPadOS)

10 | Horo

When you want to focus on a task, on time: use Horo. With natural language support, you can type ’35min’ and the counter starts.

That’s how it should be.

11 | Countdown Screensaver

A simple countdown timer to a specific date with a very sleek design — What more do you want?

--

--