Productivity on Apple

Which iPad App Gets Closest to the Convenience of Pen and Paper?

I quote from Ozymandias 7 times and take notes on the Double Slit experiment 3 times to find out

Will J Murphy
Mac O’Clock
Published in
10 min readAug 27, 2023

--

Comparing iPad Notes apps with pen and paper (created by author)
Comparing iPad Notes apps with pen and paper (created by author)

There are just so many, many iPad note-taking apps in the App Store, many claiming to offer the honest-to-whatever-deity-you-worship-or-dont best writing experience ever. But how close do they get?

All of them have tough, inexpensive competition in the shape of a plain old notebook and pen. Why are they so great? Convenience and familiarity:

  • Take the notebook from your bag or out of your pocket.
  • Get out your pen.
  • Turn to the first blank page and start writing.
  • Enjoy easily mixing writing with diagrams/quick sketches.

There are other reasons why a notebook and pen combination is great, but I’m focussing on these factors here. I’m also not going to make arguments for taking notes electronically. Well, maybe I’ll say they’re easier to back up and search, but I’ll stop there.

Instead, I’ll test how closely a selection of note-taking apps for the iPad get to the convenience of a notebook and pen. Because there are so many apps, I’m going to do…

--

--