Why Are We So Afraid of Base Spec Macs?

Mark Ellis
Mac O’Clock
Published in
5 min readFeb 5, 2021

--

Image courtesy of author

Recently, I’ve put together some buying guides for the new M1 Macs.

I felt I had to, because people are clearly struggling, big time, to pick the right Mac.

You only need to look at the comments on my M1 MacBook Air review. People want an M1 Mac, but their buying process is halted by questions such as:

“Should I get the 7-core or 8-core M1 MacBook Air?”

“I do lots of video calling; should I upgrade the RAM to 16GB?”

“I’m worried that I’m going to run out of space for my photos. But I can’t afford more storage. What should I do?”

“I’ve heard that the fan in the M1 MacBook Pro will make it last longer and be worth more when I sell it on. Is that true?”

The questions continue to flood in.

Why are people so confused about which Mac to buy?

I think my experience with these confused buyers highlights two concerns:

  1. Apple is clearly making it difficult for people to pick the right Mac.
  2. People are way too concerned about future-proofing.

We discussed this on my Discord server, recently. “I’m of the opinion that ‘future-proofing’ is a waste of time,” said one member. And…

--

--

Mark Ellis
Mac O’Clock

Tech reviewer. Join my newsletter list for a weekly behind-the-scenes video of a tech content creator! ⬇️ https://markellisreviews.ck.page/newsletter