Why I bought a MacBook Pro 2015 in 2020

Syed Izhar Ahmed
Mac O’Clock
Published in
4 min readSep 4, 2020
Image of the Laptop

Introduction

Ibought a Macbook Air 2017 in December 2017, and It has held up well to this day. During this Pandemic, I was learning more about Information Security. After a while, the laptop started to show its inability to perform because of the less powerful hardware it has. Since I did not want to empty my bank account, I decided to get a Used Macbook Pro, which would suit my needs. I sold my Macbook AIr in OLX for a reasonable price

I was on the hunt for a Used Macbook pro on OLX and Quikr. After speaking with many sellers, I was able to get a Macbook Pro 2015 at a reasonable price from Bangalore after a week from the hunt

The Upgrade

A table comparing the upgrades

What is Special about the 2015 15' Macbook Pro

The Display

This laptop has one of the best displays Apple has ever made. It is a 15.4-inch Retina display with a screen resolution of 2880x1800. The display has excellent viewing angles, and the experience is top-notch. Editing, Casual Browsing, Binge-watching Netflix, and coding on this display is a bliss. As I am coming from a mediocre 720p display, this is a significant upgrade

The Design

Apple makes laptops that are designed to be timeless and sleek in design, and this laptop is no exception. The hinge and the screen are well-engineered and always stay sturdy. The top firing speakers give an edge to the design and the black keyboard, in contrast with the Silver Metal Chassy, is an element to appreciate.

The Keyboard

Scissor Switch Keyboard

The 2015 Macbook pro has the finest keyboard Apple has ever made. It works on Scissor Switch Mechanism. Typing on this laptop is a breeze. One of the main reason that I did not consider the 2016, 2017 and 2018 models is because of the wide range of issues they have with the keyboards with butterfly switches

The Trackpad

Macbooks arguably have the best trackpads in the world. They launched the Force Touch Trackpad in 2015. The force touch trackpad simulates a click but actually the trackpad is a slab of glass and it uses pressure to simulate this click. You can use the force touch feature to do many things like Getting the Meaning of a Word, Previewing the links and many more. Now that itself requires an entire blog :)

The Speakers and the Ports

The top firing speakers on this laptop are configured nicely and the sound output is really good. They have sufficient base and the sound quality is rich to give an immersive experience while watching content

Another main reason I got this laptop over the next generation Macbooks is the availability of Ports. I don't want to be carrying dongles for everything. This laptop has all the ports you need. It has 2 USB, 1 HDMI, 2 Thunderbolt 2.0, an SD card slot and a Magsafe 2 port. These ports are more than enough to transfer data to and from the laptop

Those were some of the reasons why I decided to get a 2015 Macbook pro in 2020. I have been using the Laptop for around 1 week and so far there are no issues with it. Everything works perfectly. The seller I got from was kind enough to give a 3 month seller warranty. Because of that, I can be rest assured that if any problem occurs in the coming months, I can have a trusted person to get the laptop fixed. The battery had 410 cycles when I got the laptop which is pretty good considering the fact that Apple recommends to change the battery after 1000 cycles

Regarding the Future of the Blog

I decided to write about the things I love the most and Medium is a good place to do that. I will keep posting articles in the future about productivity, Mac Apps, Minimalism and Infosec. These will be the topics you will find on this page. So If you are into any of these, then you can chat about these on my socials. As I am new, Any kind of Feedback/Suggestion is appreciated

“Got an idea to start”, “Thinking to start” and “Making a commitment to start” is one aspect of life.
Actually “Starting” what you truly want to do in life, is a completely different ball game.

Stay tuned for future articles and Dont forget to Clap and Share the article with you friends

Peace ❤

--

--