Why I Use Apple Fitness+ Every Day

Ethan C. Wright
Mac O’Clock
Published in
8 min readMay 20, 2021

--

How a product born of a pandemic became part of my exercise regime

Image source: Apple.com

My use of Apple Fitness+ ebbed and flowed with the coronavirus.

I started using Fitness+ at the start of the year when I was serving a two-week quarantine in a hotel in Singapore. Unable to leave my room and desperately short of options for exercise, I figured it was as good a time as any to activate the free trial of Fitness+ that came with my Apple Watch.

I was pretty impressed with the app. The range of workouts was impressive despite the newness of the product. The trainers kept me motivated to the point that I was doing almost 2 hours’ worth of workouts every day in the hotel room.

The positive experience convinced me to purchase the Apple One Premier subscription after my Fitness+ trial ended. It was a good deal, as the package included not only Fitness+ but Apple Music, Apple TV+, Apple Arcade, iCloud, and News+ as well.

I used Fitness+ sporadically after being released from the quarantine and had access to a gym. I primarily used it for my cardio training, as I found the trainer-led treadmill and rowing workouts more interesting and motivational than just running to music.

I have rediscovered Fitness+ in the last 3 weeks, as Singapore has gone back into a soft lockdown after an uptick

--

--