Why Is Everyone so Obsessed With Chrome?

And why am I in the minority?

Mark Ellis
Mac O’Clock

--

Image courtesy of author

“Why do you use Safari?”

I get that a lot whenever I share my screen on a Zoom call. And the people who ask that question fall into one of two camps.

One is the “Safari is bad for you” camp. The other consists of people who genuinely have no idea what Safari is.

I’ve even been told that by using Safari to manage my finances, I’m as good as offering open invitations for cybercriminals to empty my bank account.

Alas, I’ve been using Safari for at least the last ten years and it has been nothing but a fantastic web browser for both work and personal tasks.

So, I’m here today to defend Apple’s answer to Google Chrome. But I also need some help, because I want to get to the bottom of why people are so obsessed with Chrome.

Global browser market share

These figures tell their own story. If we look at the current market share for the most popular browsers, across the globe, it goes something like this:

  • Chrome (64%)
  • Safari (19%)
  • Firefox (4%)
  • Edge (3%)
  • Samsung Internet (3%)

--

--

Mark Ellis
Mac O’Clock

Tech reviewer. Join my newsletter list for a weekly behind-the-scenes video of a tech content creator! ⬇️ https://markellisreviews.ck.page/newsletter