Why SwiftUI makes you a better programmer II

A look at some of the coding rules in SwiftUI that has moved us forward in software engineering.

Mark Lucking
Mac O’Clock

--

This is engineering from Unsplash.com

I was born in the same century as the computer industry, in fact, we grew up together. I was about ten years behind Steve Jobs and Steve Wozniak. The internet at that point had just been born, the wide world web did not exist. I learnt to program in 1982. I started with BBC Basic and went on to learn 6502 assembler, it’s a bit backwards I know.

And I watched pundits over the last three decades in the computer industry do things backwards too. I never forget a great quote by a mathematician who doesn’t get remotely enough credit; a man called Richard Hamming. He coined the phrase, mathematicians stand on each others shoulders, computer scientists stand on each other's toes. After which we evidently fall over, backwards.

Ok, maybe that isn’t entirely fair. But — there is some truth in it. Computer scientists, keep making the same mistakes or at least they seem to for the past few decades to me.

Let’s beam back to 1970 to the launch of a new computer language called PASCAL by Niklaus Wirth. One of his principal goals when designing PASCAL was to try to encourage best practices by programmers. PASCAL, unlike the original C language, is…

--

--

Mark Lucking
Mac O’Clock

Coding for 35+ years, enjoying using and learning Swift/iOS development. Writer @ Better Programming, @The StartUp, @Mac O’Clock, Level Up Coding & More