Source: Author

Why You Should Upgrade To macOS Sonoma

Andrew Zuo
Mac O’Clock
Published in
4 min readOct 10, 2023

--

MacOS updates have been pretty small recently. Like Monterrey didn’t bring that many features. Although looking back on my post on Monterey there are some small tweaks: there’s now an option to quickly convert files, Qucktime has a 2x option, tab groups, automation, and Animoji.

This post is not about Monterey though, it’s about Sonoma. And Sonoma is an even smaller update than Monterey in some ways. There’s not a lot here. Like widgets? So? Is this Windows Vista? I don’t see any use for widgets. Although it’s nice that I can use Widgets from my iPhone and items on your desktop will flow around them.

A calendar widget with icons around it
Source: author

Although this means there’s less room for icons.

Also there is now a feature that shows the desktop upon a left click. Honestly I find this a bit annoying just because its very easy to do accidentally. Especially if you’re trying to open something on the desktop. If you have a trackpad there’s a 5 finger pinch in/out which is a little difficult to do but is a much superior way of getting to the desktop if you ask me. At least you can disable it in settings.

There are some other changes like a presenter view which I’m probably never going…

--

--