APPLE SILICON

Will M1X MacBook Pros Bring Christmas in July?

New Apple silicon MacBook Pros are expected to ship this year, but when?

Dan Hansen
Mac O’Clock
Published in
5 min readJul 9, 2021

--

Apple M1 slide modified for M1X by the author
Apple M1 slide modified for M1X by the author

I was thrilled back in October 2016 when Apple announced the first Touch Bar MacBook Pros. Not because of the touch bar, but because the new design was the “Thinnest and Lightest MacBook Pro Ever.” I had been using the Late 2012 13-inch MacBook Pro which weighed in at 3.57 pounds. For less than half a pound more I could upgrade to the 4.02 pounds 15-inch MacBook Pro with a quad-core Intel “Skylake” processor, a massive upgrade from the dual-core Intel “Ivy Bridge” processor in my 2012 MacBook Pro.

It took me less than a week to realize I valued increased portability over increased power. The 15-inch MacBook Pro went back to Apple and I switched to the 3.02 pounds 13-inch MacBook Pro with 3.3GHz dual-core Intel Core i7, 16GB of 2133MHz LPDDR3, and 512GB SSD. Over time, I became sure that I made the right choice, greatly appreciating the reduced back-strain on my frequent trips to Manhattan where I would work on brain game apps at 30 Rockefeller Center and then walk through Central Park to the Metropolitan Museum of Art for a second round of coding (inspiration is where you find it).

--

--