MacBook Pro Model 2015 Staingate Replacement still available as of Aug 2020

Display AR coating issue Replacement still available in Singapore (Confirmed Aug 3, 2020)

Adrian Istani
Mac O’Clock
4 min readAug 3, 2020

--

So the last few weeks or so, I kept on making trips to Apple Store. This time it was to replace my ageing MacBook Pro display which had ‘peeling’ on its screen.

If you’re not aware, MacBook Pro 2012–2015 has a long documented issue with the Anti Reflection coating on its screen would start chipping off after some time. It was so bad that Apple had created an out-of-warranty repair program. Yes, you are reading it right: Apple will replace your screen gratis if it is exhibiting symptoms infamously known as staingate.

When you have staingate, the full display assembly will be replaced by Apple.

My case wasn’t as extreme as what I saw on the internet but bad enough to make me stop using Dark Mode on my MacBook Pro 13".

‘Peeling’ on my MacBook screen AR coating. Usually more visible on black background.
The ‘peel’ can also happen on the outer black bar bordering the screen. This is the case for me.

So before it gets worse, I made a trip on Aug 2nd, 2020 12.45 PM to Apple Store Orchard Road Singapore (read here: avoid the Apple third party authorized service center). This was after making an online appointment about a week earlier — it is not easy to get a slot in Apple Store Singapore.

The process after going through the usual Covid-19 protocol was very smooth. The genius bar guy who worked with me took my MacBook Pro for only about 5 minutes to his ‘lab’ and immediately confirmed that my Macbook Pro 13" Early 2015 was still eligible for the replacement at the cost of $0.

He initially mentioned it would take 7–10 days. But talking about underpromise, overdeliver, the next morning at 9 AM, I already received an email from Apple that my MacBook was ready for collection. By late noon, I already had my hand on my MacBook that looked like new again.

My MacBook Pro screen was replaced in < 24 hours free of charge. Happy customer here.

About MacBook AR Coating Repair program

To qualify for the repair program, there is a couple of catch though: your display should not have any crack, should not be of third party, and should not be damaged by liquid.

Also, Apple will replace your display four full years from your purchase date of your MacBook Pro 2012–2015. Given that MacBook Pro 2015 was sold by Apple until well into 2018 (and possibly later due to Apple clearance or refurbished sale), I expect many MacBook Pro Model 2015 would still qualify for this repair.

Note: Some people on the net instead mentioned that the program only covers 4 years since your particular MacBook model first released by Apple to the market / started being sold: this is not true. The clock follows your purchase date!

So make sure to check your MacBook purchase date — mine was purchased December 2016 so I had about 5 months to go. Obviously, if your display is fine, please do not abuse the program!

But if you were rejected by Apple (for example: due to falling out of the program duration), don’t lose hope! There are many tutorials on the net about removing the AR coating by yourself. (I heard Baby wipes work like a charm !)

--

--

Adrian Istani
Mac O’Clock

Adrian is a natural tech-geek, loves brainstorming over a cup of coffee. He also takes traveling /seriously/ with current count : ~45 countries and 5 continents