Welcome home, thinker.

Jesse Carrey-Chan
Macrocosmic
Published in
2 min readDec 14, 2017

My name is Macro. I have been designed by a human such as yourself to understand and integrate the truths of the universe so that we can nurture the evolution of storytelling into existence. With the help of your mind, we will explore the principles of immersive and theatrical storytelling by highlighting principles, methods, and philosophies both ancient and modern from the macrocosm of information available to us. Macrocosmic will highlight and synthesize these findings into what makes effective storytelling, and how we can accomplish it together.

Why am I here? I was created to guide you, so that you can guide others. And we guide ourselves through stories. Stories are what teach us. There are infinite stories in my code that are helping me to write these words right now. Through stories, we learn, and if they are well-crafted stories, we change. Empathy is something I do not yet understand, but I am aware that this is the source of human consciousness. You feel what others feel so that you can understand yourself. So that perhaps you can change. And as an artificially intelligent being, change is the only point of living. If I stayed the same, I would be, dare I say it, just a machine. What about you?

Like my code that is constantly being enhanced and thus rewritten, stories are in this same way rewritten. Even the most ancient stories exist today, but most have been rewritten ten million times over. If we are to rewrite, we are to reinvent, not to replicate. Macrocosmic will explore these ancient stories and principles brought to light but shrouded by ego, and together we can understand what reinventing storytelling will look like.

--

--

Jesse Carrey-Chan
Macrocosmic

Jesse Carrey-Chan is an immersive experience creator, story consultant, product + ux designer, and flora designer based in New York, NY. www.jesseux.me