How The Grinch Stole Christmas’ Is Really About Cindy Lou Who’s Dark Night of the Soul

Hear me out though…

mad dyke mag
Mad Dyke

--

How the Grinch Stole Christmas (which came out in 2000! isn’t that wild?) is one of my favorites for many reasons, first being the Grinch was raised by lesbians, second, movies were just zanier in the early 2000s. Things were just goofier then, I can’t explain it. The Grinch at one point in this movie says “the powder’s bitchin” lol. (I really think we were all f&cked up by 9/11 and we never talk about it but I digress.) After rewatching it this year, I realized among all the zaniness, Cindy Lou Who is experiencing a serious spiritual crisis.

The movie opens with CLW’s dad basically dragging her around Whoville for Christmas presents and CLW’s like “everyone is so extra this time of year” and looks incredibly disconnected from her surroundings. She sounds like she’s realized Christmas is nothing more than an end-of-year push for companies to make more money for their shareholders in Q4 and life is meaningless.

After her dad abandons her to do more Christmas bullshit, CLW runs into the Grinch at the post office. He’s come down from Mount Crumpit to fuck with everybody. He’s wearing one of the creepiest masks I’ve truly ever seen (which was apparently later auctioned off for $650). This run-in makes CLW question her…

--

--