Athletes Share Unique Experiences as First-Generation Students

Julia Glassmacher
First-Generation Students
3 min readDec 4, 2019

By Julia Glassmacher

Hawaii-native Aneka Seumanutafa started golfing at age 10, which apparently, is late in the game.

“Usually girls start when they are five,” Seumanutafa said, “Even when they are two sometimes.”

She started playing volleyball at nine years old, but when her dad mentioned to he did not think he could jump well enough, that was when she started to golf.

“I fell in love with it at 10, then I got serious at 11,” Seumanutafa said, “And I started looking [at colleges] when I was 14.”

Seumanutafa is the only member of the women’s golf team who is also a first generation student, meaning she is the first member of her family to attend college.

This fact, though, did not make her feel left out or differently from the rest of the team.

I think the recruiting process was the same for me as it was for all the other girls, Seumanutafa said, our coach was not really basing off our parents or anything.

She felt similarly about her academic journey as well.

“We [the golf team] all have the same story, even though I am a first-generation, and its pretty cool that we all have the same experience as athletes,” Seumanutafa said.

Assistant golf coach, Stacy Snider, tries to accomodate the first-generation students as best as she can.

“Being a first-generation college student myself, I am very empathetic to the student athlete,” Snider said, “I try to listen to their needs and help them utilize all the amazing resources this university has to offer.”

For pistol team member, Logan Quinn, his experience as a first generation student athlete was not the same.

The Massachusetts freshman was gifted a BB gun at five years old, and has been shooting since.

“I started shooting rifle competitively, then I eventually moved onto trapeze, “ Quinn said, “ I only started shooting pistol a year and a half ago.”

He was then recruited to the Ohio State pistol team December of his senior year after coming 22nd place out of over 100 competitors. As the only member of his family to attend college, he was coming into new territory.

“I really did not know what to expect,” Quinn said, “It was a lot of responsibility, and my parents did not have much advice.”

Being an athlete as well as a first generation student made his transition both easier and more difficult, Quinn said.

“It is harder because I have a lot more meetings, events, and practices everyday,” Quinn said, “But I love it and get a lot of benefits from being an athlete so it is easier in that aspect.”

Despite their different paths, one things remains true between both athletes; their gratitude for Ohio State.

“ It is just very cool, walking around and people know you are an athlete,” Seumanutafa said, “I am proud to wear Ohio State.”

“I was really excited because Ohio State is such a big school and one of the best programs in the country,” Quinn said, “I am really happy to be here, and feel lucky, you know.”

Listen to the podcast with Logan Quinn here:

From Left To Right And Top To Bottom: Seumanutafa with her parents Isopo and Ponipake at the Big Ten Championship. Seumanutafa in action. Quinn with parents Laura Hebb and Robert Quinn. Quinn in action.

--

--