aad is 21: Cracking Content

Ciara Mcgowan
aad.works
Published in
5 min readMar 19, 2024

So, as you might have heard through the grapevine by now, aad has turned a big 21 years old! Whoop whoop! As anyone at this age does, we’ve been looking back and reflecting on some of the fantastic content we’ve produced in the last few years, and let me tell you… there’s a LOT of it!

As a relative newcomer to the aad team, I’m maybe not quite as familiar with our extensive catalogue as some other members of the team. However, over the last few weeks, I’ve had great fun rummaging through the archives, discovering the stories behind some of our previous works, and quite frankly, getting a bit jealous that I don’t have a time machine so I can go back and be a part of these brilliant projects.

I’ve always known aad to put meaningful, considered, and ultimately incredibly well-designed content out into the world. So, without further ado, here are my top five pieces of content from the last 21 years that I think communicate exactly that.

This is not a newspaper (2014)

Up first, one of my favourite pieces to come out of aad is the ‘This Is Not A Newspaper’… newspaper(?), commissioned as part of Offset’s ‘Celebrating The City’ campaign.

What I really liked about it was the thinking behind the concept. It’s a newspaper format but not a newspaper because it doesn’t report the news. There was no info on current or recent events, instead it reported on an imagined future of South William street. Also in true aad collaborative nature, the articles were written by different creatives and accompanied by fantastic illustrations by even more creatives.

I also love that our own alum Rory Bradley and Brian O’Tuama put on their paper boy jackets (literally) and took to the streets to hand deliver it to local venues and humans. Making it a full circle piece of content, made by people of the area, inspired by the area, for the area.

IAPI Census (2016/17)

As a more visual person I hate reading through long reports full of stats and information, but does anyone?* Anything that can make content like this more engaging is going to ring my bell which is exactly what the team did on the IAPI Census. I love how they were able to take a piece of mega boring content (sorry, I can’t help myself) and re-imagine how it could be presented as something so much more engaging, dynamic and accessible.

*I know some people do but let’s pretend for my story they don’t.

Dublin Fringe Festival (2010)

The Fringe Festival, was a longstanding project of aad’s, nine years in-fact, but the edition I really love is from 2010.

The theme for that year was ‘community’, so aad asked the Fringe community to turn up on a sunny Saturday morning with their cameras to Dublin Castle Gardens, where they assembled as if to have a group portrait taken. But then, in rolls a massive F (why not?) and everybody is asked to shoot it from where they stood, sat or lay. Next these individual shots were collected and collaged together to create the main festival image. How better to capture a community than to involve them in the festival hero image making process?!

With the never ending talk of AI I think this tangible, hands on and collaborative approach to image making is what I love the most. People over robots any day!

Of course, I couldn’t leave without an honourable mention of the stunning photography and art direction in the 2015 edition. Check it out here, its g(c)lass!

Showcase (2017)

Continuing on the ‘beautiful photography’ train Showcase is another one of those projects with almost too much great content to chose from but the 2017 campaign for me is an example of some fantastic visual storytelling. Taking inspiration from traditional Irish weaving and knitting patterns and creating some super vibrant and contemporary graphic patterns, the overall identity is quite literally ‘woven’ into every piece of content from photography, printed flyers, to environmental way-finding.

Bold, graphic and storyful from start to finish!

Unlocking Knowledge Transfer (2011)

Finishing off strong with a great piece of digital content from our work with Knowledge Transfer Ireland way back in 2011. Simple, compelling and accessible storytelling brought to life by the fun and friendly illustrations of Ronan McMeel, the team managed to breakdown and communicate who KTI are and what it is they do. I particularly love the custom icon suite that is used in such an effective way throughout the film.

Also big shout out to sound designer George Brennan for creating some truly satisfying ASMR level sound effects!

--

--