Brian Heffernan
aad.works
Published in
4 min readMar 28, 2024

--

Experience this

Aad is 21. We’ve been going though the archive and reflecting on the work over the years. Without getting all misty-eyed about it, here’s five experience projects I think are worth a mention.

CultureLab (2021)
I loved working on the CultureLab exhibition with Steven McNamara at the Ulster Museum. It looked at issues of culture and identity and took playful jabs at both sides along the traditional orange and green divide. Our work had be neutral, so we leaned into the lab aesthetic. And in terms of the colour wheel, the fluorescent yellow sits right between orange and green — you can’t get more neutral than that!

ID15 Travelling Exhibition (2014)
We were asked to develop a concept for an exhibition of Irish design that would travel to embassies across the world, AND that should require no construction or assembly. That was a tough nut to crack. But the thing I really liked about this was the curation of work by Irish designers. Large-scale international projects appeared alongside smaller projects from Ireland. Made you proud to call yourself and Irish designer.

Crafted Creatures (2011)
As a child I remember being talked-down to, a lot. It was of the aspects of childhood that used to really frustrate me. The challenge with this project for the Ark was to make the event appealing to an audience as broad as 3 to 13 years (yes folks) while retaining the integrity of the works on show. It think this project strikes the balance between the fun & cute with curated & crafted perfectly. I would have loved this show as a young fella.

Peter Mark Style Club (2011)
I’m a card carrying minimalist. In most cases I value the space an object occupies more than the object itself. I like legible interiors, clean lines and natural materials. So I can’t fully explain why I also absolutely love this Memphis-inspired project produced with Garry Cohen (at the time with Hugh Wallis architects). I think the visual cacophony represents something much stronger than any visual preference — a brave statement, well made.

Club House (2007)
This identity for a ‘youth club meets members club’ was well before my time, but looked like it was great craic, and quite a lot of work! From quirky curated cabinets to the locks on toilet stall doors, every last detail was considered a brand opportunity. This was one of those projects where the commitment to the concept was really visible (Flexed Biceps Emoji).

Watch out for more selects by the aad team over the next few weeks. Here’s to another 21!

--

--