Yeah, I’m Not Doing This

Food Network went full waste on this one…

John Harbour
Made With Love
Published in
3 min readJun 13, 2020

--

You know I’m up for new things. But during a pandemic this just went over the edge in terms of waste.

One of the thought changes that came out of living in NYC during the pandemic is a new relationship with food, and leftovers, and waste. And cooking a bit of meat by using an entire box of salt and burning a kitchen towel is not my idea of sustainable cooking.

From the post… “This traditional Colombian technique gives your meat such big flavor, you’ll be making this dish all summer long!” Okay, let me just run out to Costco to buy salt and towels in bulk.

First you soak a kitchen towel in red wine, then spread out and pour a half a box of kosher salt on the towel and then spread out, then add pepper, red pepper flakes, and herbs, place beef tenderloin on top and roll up in the towel. Tie with twine and then place directly on hot coals, 12 minutes per all four sides.

I might make this once just to explore the taste, but all summer long? Well, I guess if I can drop a…

--

--

John Harbour
Made With Love

Writer, Traveler, Epicure. I travel, cook, and when possible, coax words from pen to page. Contact: https://linktr.ee/jharbour