Koji Developer Profile : Svarog1389

Dmitry Shapiro
Koji
Published in
2 min readJul 21, 2019

I remember it was late at night and was just about to go to bed, and thought I should just quickly browse around to see if there’s any interesting job postings. I really liked the vision of making app creation much easier, and replied to the ad. They asked me to take an existing game template and try to modify it, to get an idea of how it all works. It was a perfect opportunity to practice my JavaScript, since I didn’t have too much experience with it before.

I managed to make that Asteroids Game in a few days, with the help of Koji docs, videos and various useful material I found online. It took a few updates and changes before the final version would be approved by the Koji team, but the end result was pretty satisfying. After that they offered me to do some more games for them, and I found the platform quite interesting so I figured why not.

Next up was Pacman, then Space Invaders and quite a few more. I took extra effort to make my games “juicy” as well. In a lot of cases, that’s what really upgrades the feel of the game, and makes a tremendous difference in how players perceive it.

After I had a solid number of games published, the Koji team approached me with an offer to work on templates full-time, remotely. I had to think some more about it because it was just at that time I was also in negotiations with another company for a job that would also be very decent, and only considered Koji as side work until then, but ultimately I made the decision to stick with Koji.

So far that decision is turning out way better than I expected, and my skills keep improving and my apps are getting even better as a result. I’m really excited to see how much this whole platform grows over time!

Feel free and find me on Koji Discord or visit my profile Svarog1389

--

--

Dmitry Shapiro
Koji
Editor for

CEO @ Koji — Product @ Google — CTO @ MySpace Music. Three time venture backed founder. Raised over $130M for 3 companies.