Smile

Paula Thomas
MadeYouThink! with Paula Thomas
2 min readMar 9, 2017

Today was a Beach day.

I arrived early and staked my claim; plastic chair, rickety table, but a good umbrella for shade. Confession, I’m not a beach girl, three or four days a year meets my quota.

However, I love to people watch at the beach, especially kids playing. Lucky me, kids were abundant today.

A family took the table next to me with a little girl, possibly a year and a half old. She immediately sat in the sand with her bright blue bucket and shovel to play. My attention wandered for a moment then returned to the girl. I kid you not, she was eating sand with the shovel. Shoveling it into her mouth like spaghetti.

I made a statement to her mom, “Uhhh she’s eating the sand.” Mom replies, “I know, she always does.”

. . . . she let me take the introductory picture of her for oof.

“Hide your craziness behind a beautiful smile.”

Paolo Coelho, Author

KIDS give me a reason to smile.

But who needs a reason to smile?

Nobody. Not ever.

Somewhere along the way, we lose the innocence of childhood.

Kids laugh, and run, and sleep, and dance, and imagine. And eat sand without a care in the world.

If we as adults could take cues from them on occasion, we’d forget our grown up world of fret and worry and soak up little pleasures getting lost in the moment.

I bet there would be a whole lot more smiling going on.

MadeYouThink! I create positive daily posts that inspire, motivate, uplift and most of all help you think your way to a perfectly suited life.

--

--

Paula Thomas
MadeYouThink! with Paula Thomas

I seek to help people know and understand their power to think. #Thinking#Inspiration#Motivation#Uplifting#Positive