Spring is for lovers

Paula Thomas
MadeYouThink! with Paula Thomas
3 min readApr 10, 2017

As I sit in my window seat, I notice a young couple occupying a bench in the little park situated on the corner across from my third floor apartment.

Although, if I were a casual passer by I may not notice it’s two people, they are physically close enough that they almost appear as one. They are embraced in an “innocent enough” way and paying absolutely no attention to anyone or anything else.

It looks like the kind of talk new lovers do about nothing at all with their heads tilted together, faces inches apart, adding little whispers in the ear now and then followed by throwing back of the head in amusement.

Feet and fingers mingling, and hair brushing cheeks and shoulders. They appear to have a certain sway like those little black magnets that cling together.

The couple barely noticed a brief rain shower passing by. They are falling in love! Moments filled with hormones, endorphins, and little butterflies aflutter.

Honestly, if humans could figure a way to make those moments into a permanent state, life would be gloriously blissful.

After giving the young lovers on the park bench a few minutes of my attention, I had to recall a scene that played out much differently earlier in the day where I witnessed quite the opposite taking place.

I went by a coffee shop to have my morning fix with my laptop to get some work done.

Soon after I sat down, a young couple took a table near me. I immediately sensed tension between the two, clearly they were not happy.

They sat without saying anything nor looking at each other for a time. Finally, she spoke. She ended up doing most of the talking… and crying, while he just sat there. He had the look of a child being scolded with a bit of a far away gaze as if being accused. No fighting, just sadness.

I got the distinct feeling a “break-up” was happening even though I couldn’t hear their words.

Who knows what led to that moment. I felt a little pain just watching and my heart broke for them until a little later when I noticed the lovers on the bench outside my window.

I briefly wondered if the break-up couple ever shared the “park bench” feeling. I bet they did.

The sweetness of the “park bench,” or those moments when two fall in love are fleeting but ideally they lead to a true and lasting love.

Unfortunately, going through the pain of breakup is sharp in the beginning, but I realize it’s the only way to get back on the “park bench.”

I suspect the break-up couple will get over the ordeal, move on, and soon enough fall in love once again. Perhaps the next will be even better.

MadeYouThink! with Paula Thomas Offering the best advice on the plant. Read More

--

--

Paula Thomas
MadeYouThink! with Paula Thomas

I seek to help people know and understand their power to think. #Thinking#Inspiration#Motivation#Uplifting#Positive