That’s enormous and very difficult to grasp

Paula Thomas
MadeYouThink! with Paula Thomas
4 min readJan 22, 2018
Photo by Pablo Orcaray on Unsplash

If we are to believe that we are each, individually, no more and no less than an expression of God in form [feel free to substitute any other term you have for the divine if God doesn’t please you], then the “I” of the ego goes away.

God is showing up as you regardless. Which means you are God.

Wow! That’s enormous and very difficult to grasp.

I agree. It’s not the information we have been given culturally through recent ages. And, it brings up some big questions. Like. . .

Why? Why does God need to express itself as each of us and why is it difficult to grasp?

Let’s think about this, God actually expresses itself in every form of life, all animalia and botanica is the same expression. Nature is God in form, that’s not hard to accept. So why is it difficult to accept that we are God in form?

Why does God want to show up as you, and me, and a child born in a third-world African village with barely enough food to eat to survive, and a homeless woman on the streets of San Francisco, and a high paid professional athlete, and an heir to a European throne? Why?

As Neale Donald Walsch put it,

“All God does is remind itself of itself by being itself.”

The directive here is so clear: God is simply using you and everyone else as an experiential vehicle. Life gives form to experience. God lives through you and every living thing, and God wants every experience.

You are the perfect expression of and the completeness of God in form. No one is demanding anything of you, no one is requiring anything of you. You were born perfect, the perfect expression of the Divine.

[Ahhh, how many of your ego’s are screaming right now? How could I be perfect? Who am I to think I could be. . . healthy, wealthy or wise or whatever?]

When you finally do grasp this, [and let me repeat it] your whole life shifts.

You are the perfect expression of and the completeness of God in form. No one is demanding anything of you, no one is requiring anything of you. You were born perfect, the perfect expression of the Divine.

This makes easy work of your job. Your one and only job is to be the purest expression of you.

A spiritual teacher of mine has a saying that I’ve heard her repeat many times. She says, “Be the place where God shows up.” I take it to mean God expresses directly through you in order to experience life as you.

Asking God for whatever you need to be a true expression of you is automatically granted. Try it.

It’s the way I look at writing.

I write because it solidifies all the thoughts that I have. I write because I love it and when I write about something it becomes real to me. It’s me being me and that’s my perfect expression right here, right now. It’s God showing up. I have no fear because it’s not ego based.

It doesn’t matter whether my writing is grammatically correct, although I try to make it so.

It doesn’t matter if 5 or 50 or 5000 people read it, it is the way I process information and grow in understanding.

It doesn’t matter if my writing relays deep meaning in the lives of others, though I believe it does.

I could be afraid to push the publish button but I love doing it, so I do. That is choosing to live from love.

Knowing that the only thing you need to do is to be the best “you” that you could possibly be wipes egoistic fear based living from existence.

There’s a wonderful speech given by Jim Carrey. It’s a commencement address for the Maharishi University of Management in 2014. A video of the full speech is attached which is rich and packed with insight, please watch!

Below, I’ve pulled a quote from the speech that relates to the point I am making.

“Now fear is going to be a player in your life, but you get to decide how much. You can spend your whole life imagining ghosts, worrying about the pathway to the future, but all there will ever be is what’s happening here and the decisions we make in this moment, which are based in either love or fear.

So many of us choose our paths out of fear disguised as practicality. What we really want seems impossibly out of reach and ridiculous to expect, so we never ask the Universe for it.”

Carrey goes on to say that he is proof that you can ask the Universe for it. He relates the story that his Dad could have been a brilliant comedian but chose instead to take a safe accounting job. He said when faced with a decision, always choose what you love.

Choosing what you love is “being the place where God shows up.” Choosing what you love is the perfect expression of who you are, and choosing what you love is giving the experience of love ‘in the form of you’ to the divine.

As I said, it’s your one and only job.

Now, that’s enormous and very difficult to grasp but when you do “God shows up” as you.

MadeYouThink! with Paula Thomas

--

--

Paula Thomas
MadeYouThink! with Paula Thomas

I seek to help people know and understand their power to think. #Thinking#Inspiration#Motivation#Uplifting#Positive