When your foot gets tangled on a root

Paula Thomas
MadeYouThink! with Paula Thomas
2 min readJun 4, 2017
Angela Benito

I like to run on trails out in the woods.

I’m not speedy. I run for a while then pause to walk and enjoy the serenity, then takeoff on the trail once again.

I’m fairly quick and agile with my feet most of the time. I like the twists and the turns of a trial, and never seeing too far of a stretch out in front. Descending and ascending the hills keeps it interesting. Plus, all of that oxygen the trees are giving off lets me feel as though I can breathe deeply.

Running in the woods can present a few dangers. There are roots and stumps and the occasional rock along the path. It doesn’t happen often, however, more than once, I’ve caught my foot on one of these obstacles and in an instant ‘smack.’ I hit the ground. It comes out of nowhere.

It happened yesterday. The damage was pretty minor with a few scrapes and a mighty big bruise on my thigh. When it happens there’s that split second you know you’re going down but there’s absolutely nothing you can do about it. There’s no time for even a protective move to limit the damage.

I must admit something, I actually like when it happens.

Weird I guess. It’s not that I like having a couple of bruises or scabs to heal and being sore for a day or two. What I like is the jolt and the awareness it creates. The ‘wake-up’ it gives you. The bruises and scabs are the physical reminder that last for a week or so, the mental reminder goes on much longer.

Makes me a better runner.

These sorts of jolts happen all the time in life, metaphorically speaking. Think about that . . .

There you are in your happy place running along on your little trail and wham, face to the ground. You get up, brush off, limp a little, and continue on. It’s what it does for you that’s important.

Hell, I was two miles in on a five mile trail with no one else in sight. I guess another hiker or runner would have eventually came along if I needed assistance and I could have called for help. Didn’t need to, though, I just needed to shake it off and get going again . . . and learn the lesson.

When life deals you one of these blows, when your foot gets tangled on a root and you end up in a precarious position. Understand it’s something out there saying, ‘wake-up.’

It’s what you do after that counts. Brush yourself off, limp a little if you need to and then take off again. That root popped itself up for a reason.

MadeYouThink! with Paula Thomas. Offering the best advice on the planet. Read More

--

--

Paula Thomas
MadeYouThink! with Paula Thomas

I seek to help people know and understand their power to think. #Thinking#Inspiration#Motivation#Uplifting#Positive