Image by Aphinya Dechalert

Ways To Suck At React

the meta things that slows down your learning journey

Aphinya Dechalert
Published in
5 min readMar 24, 2021

--

Not too long ago, I committed myself to learning React properly. As a long-time software developer, I’ve been on and off React projects, depending on what the team needed. Despite what others assume about me, my personal gauge of understanding how the darn thing works is probably at the tinkering level.

I can do things. I can make ticket requirements happen. But there’s a lot of hand-holding from Google (not that there’s anything wrong with that either).

Over the past few weeks, I’ve immersed myself in a bunch of mini prototypes to figure out how certain concepts work, their nuances, and the things that no one really talks about in follow-along YouTube tutorials.

From this experience, I’ve discovered that there are a few meta things about being a software developer that can really hold you back when it comes to learning to code in React.

React Code Prejudice

Everyone has a preference — and this preference can set you up for future prejudices against different ways of thinking. Why do we do this? Because we’re biased towards what we know and what we’ve experienced as something that works.

--

--

Aphinya Dechalert
Modules&Methods

Where Development Meets Storytelling: Tech Writer, Editor & Dev Advocate. Translating Complexity into Clarity. DM me. linkedin.com/in/dechalert