Help me with communication

I persuade the team to keep communication minimal. At times I over do it.

Madhavan Malolan
madhavanmalolan
2 min readMar 21, 2019

--

One liner

The most important piece of my communication stack is the one liner. I’m super bullish about it and iterate on it a lot. I still don’t have a good one liner.

I think what we as a company are doing is pretty straight forward. It should be easy to explain it to anybody. I think it can be condensed into one short sentence.

I obsess over it. The best advice on writing I’ve ever heard — You know you are done writing not when you have nothing to add but when you have nothing to remove. This applies really well to think about my one liner.

This is what I use everywhere. To explain it to mom, the first line on the website, first slide of my decks.

Design

I keep my design simple. I try to not distract the person using my product or reading my content get carried away with anything but the core communication.

My decks are black and white. They have one sentence per slide.

No visuals. Default fonts.

I recently was challenged on this mental model. The argument being sometimes the other person needs visuals to associate to.

In hindsight, one of the reason I was against the visual distraction is because I was bad at it. To make something look good would take really long, and the output would still be sub-par. We now have a designer who can add the visual cues much faster.

Revamping assets

We’re now revamping the website. The website had just a bunch of text and some stock photos. We’re now finally adding mocks and demos of our actual product.

It does feel much more powerful.

We’re now adding some imagery to our decks. I hope the RoI is high.

Most of our decks are still going to be black and white and only text. Some of our bigger clients might get one with our design touches, because we cannot spend time designing each deck we send.

We’re optimizing what we can do with the resources we have.

How do you make your decks and websites?

I’m writing a weekly blog about how I’m running my company in real life. Please do help me out if you think I can do something better! I’d love to discuss.

Follow me here for updates. If you prefer to have updates mailed to you once a week you can subscribe here : http://eepurl.com/gkBrLL

--

--