Meet the Team: Jacob Koesterich, Senior Product Designer

Tony Dziekonski
MadHive
Published in
5 min readSep 26, 2019

--

Welcome to this week’s edition of the “Meet the Team” blog series! In this edition, we sit down with design guru Jacob Koesterich, Senior Product Designer, to ask him questions about his professional and personal life.

An avid cyclist, rock climber, and Dad, Jacob joined the MadHive team about two years ago and has been transforming the UX (user experience) of the products MadHive is building.

Jacob has already completed a metric century bike ride (62 miles) in 5 hours and plans to do 100 miles soon💪

What is your hometown?

Rochester, NY, born and raised! I lived in Las Vegas for a few years, then moved back to New York to finish school, and finally settled down in New Jersey.

Where did you study engineering? How long have you been a developer?

I actually did not study engineering, I studied art. I’ve always loved drawing and painting and that shifted my interest into computer art, which eventually shifted my interest to web design. Starting my junior year of high school I enrolled in a Commercial Art program, I would spend half the day doing graphic design and the other half taking normal classes, which was a great experience and gave me a head start before college. After high school, I went to the Art Institute of Las Vegas, where I continued to study Graphic Design and received my Associates Degree. While there, I realized Graphic Design did not challenge me enough. You design something, print it out for a poster or billboard and then it’s done. So, I decided to transfer to SUNY Oswego where I focused on Web Design and complete a Bachelor of Fine Arts Degree.

Favorite programming language and why?

I love HTML and CSS. While they are crucial to making things look good, they are not really programming languages. Having a solid understanding of HTML/CSS allows me to spend time optimizing the UI and enhancing the UX. So I guess my favorite is JavaScript but, it’s more of a love-hate relationship.

Why’d you become a developer/designer — what drew you to it?

I’ve always blurred the lines between designer and developer. I consider myself a designer first and developer second. But, I really enjoy both aspects and the ability to be hands-on with development. I love creating things and being able to bring a design to life is really what drew me to web development.

When I first started building websites, it was like magic. You make a change to a file, hit save, refresh the browser, and all of a sudden your work is live. Also, I really enjoy the challenges of building a website or application that will be used on multiple device types, browsers, internet speeds and by many different users.

How long have you been at MadHive and why did you decide to join?

I started at the end of October 2017, so about 2 years. Originally, MadHive found me on AngelList and reached out. I was intrigued with MadHive and wanted to know more about how they are building with blockchain and how it can be applied to ad tech. When I walked into the office, it had a great vibe and everyone I met during my interview was extremely knowledgeable. It was apparent that MadHive had a really strong team and I was impressed with the technology stack they were using. All around, it sounded really good and it was exactly what I was looking for.

What drew you to ad tech/blockchain?

Both ad tech and blockchain were new to me, so that was really exciting. I had experience in FinTech, but never ad tech and I really wanted to learn more. I was specifically seeking companies that use blockchain technology. So, when MadHive reached out it was perfect. I didn’t know much about blockchain but it didn’t take long for me to buy into the technology. Once someone explains blockchain and you understand it’s potential, you wonder why doesn’t everyone embrace this?

As a UX engineer, what kind of challenges do you face in this new, somewhat confusing blockchain industry?

Part of the designer’s job is to help the user understand the value of blockchain, which is extremely important. You can build an app that uses blockchain, but the user might not care unless you communicate what's happening. So, it’s a challenge to be a UX designer in this space. We have to educate our users and show more of what’s going on behind the scenes.

What advice do you have for developers getting into ad tech or blockchain?

Keep an open mind and immerse yourself in these industries. I’m still learning Ad Tech, but understanding it and how it got to where it is today, can help you understand the problems that we’re trying to overcome.

And now the fun stuff…

Favorite thing to do outside of work?

I enjoy cycling and I’ve recently started indoor rock climbing. I try to get away from the computer screen and do something completely different. Cycling and rock climbing force me to clear my mind and be in the moment. Also, I really love spending time with my wife and kids.

Favorite music?

I like all different kinds of music. I’m always trying to find new songs on Spotify. I love anything with a good beat when I’m working and Logic has been on my playlist since way back when.

Favorite food?

Braised short ribs with polenta.

Favorite sports team?

Buffalo Bills #BillsMafia

Favorite video game?

I don’t really play video games anymore but I’ve always loved Mario Kart and recently played Fortnight.

Proudest accomplishment?

Finishing school was a really big achievement for me. I struggled with anything that wasn’t art, so earning a degree was a big deal. Starting a family is, of course, one of my proudest accomplishments as well!

--

--