How my baby is teaching me self care

Madiyah Umm Yusuf
Madiyah Umm Yusuf
Published in
3 min readApr 24, 2017

I lay in my bed this morning, rubbing my tired eyes after having just got the little one to sleep. He was cluster feeding all morning and just wouldn’t settle. In my mind, I was wondering whether he was going through a growth spurt, just wanted comfort or of there was another issue, (mama worries!)

The grey clouds began to hover over me. Was I doing something wrong? How could I help my baby feel better and comforted? I looked across the room and out of the window. It was so dull outside today. Grey skies and not a leaf on the trees outside my window. I opened instagram and saw a picture of cherry blossoms. Sigh. I missed the sight and smell of spring.

Grey thoughts began to cloud my mind and inside I found myself having an inner battle between wanting to stay in bed all day and taking a break to nurse etc, or actually getting out of bed and doing something for myself whilst baby was asleep.

Though it was much easier doing the former, I decided to convince myself to do the latter.

For myself. For my baby. For my family. Because if I was down and sullen and in bed all day, then it would have a domino effect on my family.

Not only that, but I had time. These moments were precious. I could use them for myself. After all, don’t I deserve to give to myself after an exhausting morning?

So, I jumped out of bed and decided to take advantage of these precious moments. I ran a hot bath. As soon as I stepped out he was awake and hungry, but boy did I feel rejuvenated :)

I realize that as a mother, your life revolves around this tiny new human being. It can be quite overwhelmingly beautiful and daunting at the same time. But one thing my baby is teaching me everyday is, to take care of myself so I can take better care of him.

Since I’m his source of food and comfort, I need to take care of myself more than ever so that I can give back more, love more, cuddle more and the energy to play with him more.

And it’s the little things like, running a hot bath, having a chocolate bar (or two), reciting a page of Qur’an, going for a 5 minute walk whilst my siblings watches my baby, that will boost my spirits like never before.

Through him, Allah is also teaching me the value of time. We have 24 hours in the day. Before having a child, I must have spent maybe an hour or two everyday doing something for myself, though I had all the time in the world — I could have done way more! But when time becomes restricted and when responsiblities increase, even 10 minutes or 20 minutes of *quality* me time can weigh heavier and mean more than any hour or two prior child ever did.

You don’t feel like wasting any minute. Because each minute where you can do something to fill your near-empty vessel is precious, for yourself and your baby and for your loved ones surrounding you.

And therfore, each day when I finally get some moments to myself, I think about all those moments I thought I was busy when I was single when in reality I had all the time in the world and I think about how much half an hour means to me now.

So all those who have time (all of us, remember:

• Time is a blessing. And it’s not about how much time we have, but rather, it’s how we utilise it.

• An empty vessel can’t pour.

  • Think of time like a cake. Each slice represents one area of our life. There’s a time for my baby, there’s a time for my husband, there’s a time for Qur’an, and after giving each slice to those around me, I mustn't forget my share. Because I too deserve a slice of the cake even if it’s small. :)

--

--

Madiyah Umm Yusuf
Madiyah Umm Yusuf

Mother of 3 | Author of ‘From Al-Aqsa to the Lote Tree’ | BA in Islamic Studies & Education |