Motherhood is a full time job!

Madiyah Umm Yusuf
Madiyah Umm Yusuf
Published in
2 min readOct 18, 2017

Motherhood is rewarding, beautiful but also, extremely exhausting. Because you’re constantly busy with something or the other, sometimes it’s hard to do even simple things until later in the day, like brush your hair and teeth (once baby has been fed), change out of your PJ’s (after you’ve chafed his nappy) or get into decent clothes (that are mismatched because colour coordinating takes too long!).

This can in turn make a woman feel worn out, unattractive and messy for most of, or a big part of her day.

This is exactly how I was feeling the other day when I confided to my husband through watery eyes.

His response was an analogy that keeps me going on those harder days.

He said (paraphrased):

“Imagine I was a construction worker. My job would be to build buildings. In the day I would be sweaty, hair disheveled, hands full of cement, and clothes filled with dirt and mud. Yet, would you approach me and comment on my appearance and tell me to stop looking so exhausted? No. Because that’s my job. I’m supposed to look this way because I’m working hard. Similarly, just like the construction worker, you are also building something. You are building the foundations for the child. Go easy on yourself, allow yourself the blood, sweat and tears. Then when your work is over (basically in between nappy changing and feeding and rocking and whilst someone else has the babg), give back to yourself, take a shower, wear new clothes, read a book, relax, just like the construction worker would do when he goes home. When your work is done, make time for yourself, wash the cement off your hands, this will help you feel better about yourself. And then get ready for it all to begin again the next day.”

--

--

Madiyah Umm Yusuf
Madiyah Umm Yusuf

Mother of 3 | Author of ‘From Al-Aqsa to the Lote Tree’ | BA in Islamic Studies & Education |