Preschoolers and Qur’an: Can they actually begin memorising from 0?

Madiyah Umm Yusuf
Madiyah Umm Yusuf
Published in
7 min readSep 9, 2020

--

So I recently read quite a few posts on Muslim Mamas groups and forums on facebook, asking how they can introduce Qur’an/islamic studies to preschoolers. I thought I would share my answer to them, here.

It’s an interesting one.

Many people debate that teaching a child Qur’an or memorization when they’re too young is a hindrance to what they shpuld be doing instead, playing. I understand why they feel this way but what if I told you, that perhaps the way education and learning has been formalized and structured and how heavy and textbook it is, may shape some of these beliefs? Does learning always have to happen a set way? Learn theory, do exams etc. Or can it happen organically and naturally?

What if, you could still teach your child through play, through the right environment, through answering their gazillion questions and also through nurturing their strongest traits and abilities, one of them being, their ability to memorise and retain.

And yes,at age 1/2.

I want to shed light on our current journey with the Qur’an combined with Tajweed specifically, and how I Incorporated it into our daily home educating from age 0, in a not formalized way.

So when the children (now 3 and almost 2), were newborns we would play Qur’an every time it was their time to sleep or nap and also whilst breastfeeding. I remember fondly how it would almost always be Surah Baqarah recited by Sheikh Mishary al-afasy. The reason I did this, was because, as Psychology student, I had studied a module on Child Psychology and how children learn through association and assimilation.

So, I decided that I wanted my children to associate the feeling of calmness, feeling relaxed, comforted and secure, with the Qur’an. One day, they may feel the opposite of these things things and I want their first instinct to be to pick up the Quran or play it’s recitation as I used to do during my teenage years that were filled with anxiety and depression.

I tried not to play the Qur’an when they were distressed, crying, and as they got older — when tantrum-ing. I knew that, in those moments they feel pain and hurt and I didn’t want them associating the sound of Qur’an with those distressing feelings they were experiencing.

To summarise this point, try and expose them to the Quran in their calmer state, as you feed them, recite to them ayahs in your soft mama voices. Play it as they snooze. Soon both my children would only fall asleep to Qur’an.

As they grew older, so when my toddler was 2 and baby was around 6 months, I noticed him beginning to recite ayahs from Surah Baqarah (what we played) as he went about his day, playing and what not.

It was then that I remembered how children at this age are like sponges absorbing everything so quickly. Their memories are the strongest at this age and I wanted to nurture it with helping to create an environment that aids their memorisation.

But here’s something to remember, one of the most significant thing you can do as a parent wanting their child to memorise the book of Allah, is to first and foremost, set the example before you set the scene. Let them observe you recite it. Schedule it into your timetable daily.

I used to recite peacefully in silence when the kids were sleeping but then I made the decision to do it around them so to set that example.

Tell them, “Mama is going to recite Qur’an now..” and set them an invitation to play so they know that this time is special for you and that they should try and be a little independent. Of course my littlest would sit in my lap trying to turn the pages and what not. But I persisted even if it meant my 3 pages took longer. Even if it meant I had to say, “No sorry jani, I can’t play right now…”. I wanted them to know this right here, is importance in my life.

Fast forward, my now just turned 3 year old by the tawfique of Allah, has alhamdulilah memorised 10 surahs from Juzz Amma, 2 hadith nawawi and we are currently learning the thousand line Seerah poem in Arabic. Allahumma Baarak Lahum.

I don’t speak fluent Arabic. I know bits and bobs. My husband speaks fluently, but for me this is a learning curve and experience as much as it is for them. This is not to boast and may Allah protect and forgive me if it comes across that way, but I simply want this to be a reminder of how it’s never too young to begin memorising and how you can help your child LOVE the Quran and be curious to learn it.

So how has he memorised the 10 Surahs?

Simply, by listening.

I play the Surah we are on (so currently Fil), every day at breakfast or straight after. It’s left on repeat as we play and build. I play the same Surah consistently until I sense that they are memorising. How do I know he’s memorising? My toddler will be climbing the stairs reciting a verse. He will be swinging on a swing and remember an ayah randomly. That’s how I know. I will correct him as I climb the stairs after him or remind him of something that will help him remember something he’s forgotten.

How does he learn the Tajweed rules?

Again, by listening and copying. A good and slow reciter I recommend for having brilliant Tajweed is Sheikh Husary. So I switch between them. As I like Misharys tune and want them hopefully to pick up on it 😅

I don’t sit and actively teach ayah by ayah at all. I know he won’t grasp it like that. It will be too formal and perhaps feel forceful. I just try and set the example and environment and their brains absorb and their curiosity awakens. My 1; almost 2 year old has learnt about 3 surahs and is obsessed with Surah Lahab for some reason unbeknownst to me.

Every 2/3 days or in the car on our journeys we review the Surahs we’ve already learn together. I recite with them. My toddler then asks me questions. “What does Abaabeel mean?” “Is fee hadhal bayt the Kaabah?” “What’s lahab?”

I truly believe in child-led learning and so I answer. I bring my little knowledge of tafseer to the table and simplify it. Sometimes our Surah even inspires a craft/activity or art lesson for the next day. Surah Fil was one of those. My toddler wanted to know more. So I told the story of Abraha and his army through a puppet show. We colored elephants and labelled their body parts. We looked at images of the abaabeel bird and watched an Arabic with Zaky cartoon on the story of Abraha and his army.

This helps the Surah become more etched as they now have a story, a craft, a painting of the sunrise (Surah Falaq) to jolt their memories if they forget a word or ayah.

I also let my children be around when I’m doing my own memorisation with my teacher online. Yes, they interrupt, ask a a million questions, show my teacher all their toys! But again, I want them to realise I’m on the journey same as them too.

Mamas; its never too early. You don’t need to have memorised the entire Qur’an to want this for your children. But if you’re going to put your children on this journey, why not accompany them to? Gift this to yourself?

You don’t need anything fancy or robust to start. Like I said, environment and child-led learning are the two doors. Let the environment spark their curiosity and you then follow their lead.

But the key, the key is small and consistent. 10 minutes of repeat recitation of a Surah isn’t alot is? But you need to do that daily for a week or two for it to begin settling.Put a little in, and get alot from it.

I don’t even do treats or rewards when finishing a surah because I don’t want it to be like an incentive we have for chores. “If you do this for me I’ll give you this.” Rather, I want the kids to do it because they want to. Because the Qur’an makes them curious. Because they like reciting. However, I did tell my toddler who asked for another toy car the other day that he can get it once he finishes Surah Fil (we all need the motivation to keep going now and then ;)

I pray Allah (swt) enables us all to strengthen our relationship with His book and makes us and our families from the people of the Qur’an, ameen.

If you have any questions or advice on this topic, pease don’t hesitate to reach out, I would love to help inshaAllah. And I pray that Allah (swt) helps you accomplish all your goals related to the Qur’an for yourself and your little ones, ameen.

Oh and remember, Allah (swt) says: “And We have certainly made the Qur’an easy for remembrance, so is there any who will remember?” (54:17)

--

--

Madiyah Umm Yusuf
Madiyah Umm Yusuf

Mother of 3 | Author of ‘From Al-Aqsa to the Lote Tree’ | BA in Islamic Studies & Education |