A Leap into the Limelight: Stepping out of comfort

Sabartism
Madrasters
Published in
3 min readNov 18, 2023

In the journey of success, the ladder is often climbed by seizing the rungs of opportunity, regardless of the height difference between each step. Each rung is a chance to ascend, to grow, and to reach new heights. I recently experienced one such pivotal rung that compelled me to step out of my comfort zone.

Madrasters, a vibrant creative community, organized a design meetup on the theme of “A Path to the Digital World,” focusing on accessibility and visual storytelling. As the branding lead of the community, I had to focus on multiple fronts, but I saw it as a golden opportunity to not only communicate through visuals but also through speech — a challenge I was eager to embrace.

One notable feature of Madrasters’ meetups is the “Limelight Session,” a 10-minute slot dedicated to upcoming designers to showcase their portfolios and hone their public speaking skills. With the theme aligning perfectly with my portfolio, I was eager to take the stage. However, my friend Rio ( Rajesh Sanker) was initially assigned to the slot. To my surprise, he graciously stepped down, offering me the chance.

In an era where AI replacing human roles looms large, my perspective took an intriguing turn. Rather than fearing the encroachment of artificial intelligence, I found it to be a source of inspiration, widening my creative horizons. I explored various genres, and it opened up.

To start with, I wanted to explore the cinematic universe which is trending and I named it “Fearless Warrior”. My genre was based on war which had the flavours of rugged and rustic. Hollywood actors were my choice because I belong to the Marvel tribe. The best part was matching the body anatomy to be similar to a warrior. The forest ambiance and the smokey feel enhanced the overall look.

The next series was inspired by my photo walk in the Koyambedu market. My focus was to capture emotions but majorly happiness was my target. I couldn’t bring out the full emotion so I used the magic wand, AI. Here, I tweaked my thoughts a bit like what if the marketperson captures a selfie with their product. And not to miss, with a broad smile. I named this series “Market Series — Selling Happiness.

My next exploration has to be a single conceptual poster and I wanted to raise my voice against the abuse for women in Manipur. I proudly say this poster is my best to date in the conceptual genre, Brownie points for those who find the peace symbol.

My next series was the best part of the whole presentation but I would like to dedicate a separate blog for that series, Thank you Madrasters for the never-ending learnings and explorations.

--

--