My experience as a limelight speaker

Vishnu Srini
Madrasters
Published in
3 min readJun 1, 2018

I’m so excited to share my experience as a limelight speaker. This is the first time that I have delivered a speech in front of 150+ people that too before the unsatisfying species on earth, Yes! in front of designers.

My first slide of the presentation

On 19th May, Madrasters conducted a Design Meetup on “Emotional Design and Psychology for Designers”, as a ritual of any meet up conducted by Madrasters there will always be a limelight session. During the limelight session the speaker is supposed to showcase his/her work to get reviewed by the audience(designer species). This time Jack Anto, asked me to do the limelight session and I was very much happy to accept it. I prepared a bunch of slides which showcased my works and reflected my design journey.

another slide form my presentation

I wanted to add a fun element to my presentation so I added few spider-man .gif in my slides complementing my content, what else can make the presentation more interesting. Everything was set and on the day of presentation I was little nervous as this was my first speech. Clock beat 10 in the morning and there was a huge crowd of audience who entered the meetup hall. The meetup started with an activity, followed by the main speaker Jeevan Siva’s talk on “Emotional Design”. Next was my awaiting moment and all the 300+ eyes shifted their focus on me. I held my nerves and started my speech, I showcased some of my works and explained the reason behind the work, I also shared my experience on travelling overseas and the knowledge that I gained by working with the designers in different parts of the globe.

one of my work that I showcased, check more at dribbble
another work that I showcased, check more at dribbble

Throughout my speech only one thing was going through my mind, to connect to the audience and not to bore them. I could see few faces responded with smile for the spider-man slides. After I complete my speech there was a good response from the crowd and they appreciated me with a round of applause👏. I was giving myself a hi-five for successfully completing my speech.

Thanks for reading…

--

--