Gliricidia Sepium — Madre de Cacao: A True Natures Gift — Madre de Cacao

Shenmi Lim
madredecacao
Published in
4 min readDec 7, 2017

Madre de Cacao or much more popularly known as kakawate is a common deciduous tree that grows up to 10 meters high. When I was a child, I remember plenty of open spaces wherein they use kakawate as a “living” fence. It isn’t an invasive type of plant, making it ideal to grow in the garden to provide shade for other plants or crops.

I never really cared about this plant, nor thought of it as a healing herb. I just remember its unique odor. I have always been drawn to natural and organic products. Before I reached 30, I have been fortunate enough to be given an opportunity to learn many things, esp. the art of tea. In which my knowledge of herbs and plants are rooted from.

Before anything else, I am not an herbalist and no one should ever mistake me for a holistic vet either. The things I share in this website (including my handcrafted products) are among many other things I have carefully self-studied and that results I promise are collective among other practitioners and I carefully used as my working hypothesis of what works and what doesn’t.

Going back to kakawate, my journey to learning about this multipurpose legume is ongoing. I am amazed about the lengthy studies done by universities and men of biological sciences. I wish I have the credentials and equipment to further the studies. But I know we are all simply trying to fit within roles presented to us. Right now, I am a humble salve, balm and soap maker novice to the chemical sciences of this magnificent plant.

My recent animal rescue and fostering brought me to question so many things about modern veterinary care. I believe a few of my pets may have been over vaccinated that lead to their death. Traumatized by my loss and hefty vet bills I chose to go organic. Unfortunately there is no holistic vet in my hometown, and even more unfortunate, there are very few veterinary practice open for business. It is just as it is, I rest my case.

Like every pet owner, I want the best for my pets and fosters and when challenged by an illness would submit to hefty vet bills. Came the idea of why not study and do my little research on what is good and what isn’t. I would hate to be called an irresponsible pet owner but I am also tired of always getting my pets the shots and unnecessary synthetic meds.

When Mange Came to Us

Growing up in this rural town of a third world country, it isn’t a surprise to see so many dogs suffer mange. Well to be honest, not a surprise that so many animals suffer. I took in one puppy that I named Coco, a stray who collapsed on the street just in front of the house. I knew she had mange and I knew I had to do something about it, for my other pets, myself and other people in the household. I have grown pretty tough in ignoring the many cries of the world, but sometimes, as suffering tiny animal is just difficult to ignore.

I thought I was doing well with my treatment. I have no prior research or knowledge about madre de cacao then. I was only treating her with lavender oil mixed with my homemade beeswax balm. I have always been in love with beeswax and essential oils, not for pets though, but for humans. I have been making my own burn balms, moisturizers and many more prior to making balms for pets.

My treatment with Coco did great. But if I wasn’t mistaken she had more than demodectic mange and her skin still have sores and blisters. She would still scratch daily. So I just gave in to the ads I see online. I bought her shampoo with neem oil and madre de cacao and a bar of madre de cacao soap. I did my research and was surprised that madre de cacao was in fact the kakawate I know from my childhood.

My initial problems with the soap and the shampoo are not just the potency of the product but reduced potency after rinsing; tannins (where most of the good stuff are) will be lost after a rinse. After all you cannot just leave the product on the fur because the surfactants added to the soap or shampoo might irritate their skin even more. I do not want to spend $20 to $30 on a balm, besides I like making balms and salves out of beeswax. I wouldn’t use a commercially available balm because I hate paraffin and never know what they use. Hence, I made my first few batches.

Coco is much better and my other dogs suffering from localized mange is much better. Yes, madre de cacao is a true nature’s gift not only for us but also our furry friends.

Originally published at madredecacao.com on December 7, 2017.

--

--