Technology Won’t Let You Keep What You Buy

The Jasper Lines
Mag Blog
Published in
1 min readApr 6, 2018

There is a room full of VHS tapes stored in a room somewhere in my house. I’m still holding on to them when I should burn or dump them somewhere. It’s hard to get rid of things sometimes, and the old stuff seems like the best stuff. You put all of your hard earned money into what you want to get, but you still don’t have it. When technology offers something new and better, it stops selling what you have been buying. Now there are DVDs, and you have to buy all of your old movies over again or waste time copying them from a VHS tape. For me, a DVD is where it is going to stop. I’m not going to buy the next new thing.

To see my favorite movies and cartoons, I would like to be able to pull up a menu on my television screen and choose to watch a movie I would like to watch from a list. We have Netflix and Amazon now, but we never really own the movies. Technology won’t let you keep what you buy.

--

--