a week in the life: november 13, 2017

Maggie Reid
maggiesofar
Published in
4 min readNov 20, 2017

In this Sunday series, I write down a little snippet of what I’ve been doing during the past week (with lots of pictures at the end). I also put down some goals and plans for the upcoming week as well. My hope is to share a bit of what my life as an expat is like on a more day-to-day basis.

This Week:

Where I went: On our last day in Hong Kong, went to Heng Fua Chuen, which is the neighborhood where my husband grew up. Then, we traveled back from Hong Kong, and after a brief break in Tokyo, flew to Sydney! All that traveling is the reason why this post is a little later than my Sunday goal (I know nobody cares except me, but it bothers me). Blame the flying and the spotty internet connections.

What I ate: On our last night in Hong Kong, we ate at Nanhai №1 where they served the most interesting lobster rice soup. The rice was slightly crispy which added a surprising crunch to the bisque-like soup. Possibly my favorite soup ever. In Sydney, we went to Rice Paper in Newtown for some delicious Vietnamese food. This morning, we headed to our favorite breakfast spot (in the world?) called Grounds of the City for a brekkie bowl and a brekkie roll (both were amazing and mouthwatering). The brekkie bowl was a healthy green concoction with kale pesto, avocado, quinoa, spelt, roast almonds, and kefir.

What I did: Flew. A lot. Tried out the private cabanas in the Cathay “Wing” Lounge in Hong Kong’s airport, which has sadly ruined all other airport and airport lounge experiences for me. Browsed a ton of cool bookstores in Sydney’s funky Newtown neighborhood, including the iconic Gould’s Book Arcade and the Elizabeth Bookshop, home of the blind date with a book phenomenon.

What I learned: The fungus that is behind so many of Japanese food staples (miso, sake, mirin) is called koji. It’s so beloved in Japan that there is an anime character based on it, and there’s even a holiday, National Fungus Day, celebrated in October. I learned this from an awesome podcast I’m addicted to these days called GastroPod. Check it out!

Next Week:

Where I’m going: I’m settling into Sydney right now and will be here for most of the week before flying back to Tokyo on Friday. While here, I’m hoping to head to Bondi Beach for the first time, and also go back to Manly to look around a bit more than I could last time (when it was winter).

What I hope to accomplish: Honestly, I really really hope to finish up my posts on my adventures in Hong Kong. I have so much to share with you guys from my trip last week, but haven’t had the time to put all my thoughts down yet!

This Week in Photos:

Heng Fa Chuen apartment buildings
Dim sum lunch in Heng Fa Chuen station
Private cabana in Cathay’s “Wing” Lounge
Stuffed chicken wings and “autumn rolls” at Rice Paper
Beef pho at Rice Paper
Gould’s Book Arcade in Newtown, Sydney
Maze of rare, used, and out-of-print books at Gould’s Book Arcade
Elizabeth’s Bookshop in Newtown, Sydney
Cafe Shenkin in Newtown, Sydney
King Street in Newtown
The Grounds of the City
Brekkie roll at The Grounds of the City
Brekkie bowl at The Grounds of the City

--

--

Maggie Reid
maggiesofar

American expat living in Tokyo. Lawyer, avid reader, foodie, crocheter, unashamed homebody.