a week in the life: november 20, 2017

Maggie Reid
maggiesofar
Published in
3 min readNov 27, 2017

In this Sunday series, I write down a little snippet of what I’ve been doing during the past week (with lots of pictures at the end). I also put down some goals and plans for the upcoming week as well. My hope is to share a bit of what my life as an expat is like on a more day-to-day basis.

This Week:

(I’m late again with this post this week. I blame this week’s tardiness on good old fashioned laziness).

Where I went: I was in Sydney for most of this week. More posts on that trip to follow, with details on the different places I went. After getting back to Tokyo this weekend, we went to the nearby Roppongi Hills Christmas Market for some very welcome holiday cheer.

What I ate: Sydney has a lot of great food from Southeast Asia, so my favorite meal this week was some Thai food at Home Thai in Sydney’s Central Business District.

What I did: Most of my sightseeing in Sydney this time around was focused on finding relaxed neighborhoods to sit with a cup of coffee and people-watch. I also went to a few beaches to soak up the atmosphere (but not the sun, thanks to my SPF 50, bucket hat, and long sleeves — when you’re this white, you learn to take precautions).

What I learned: While shopping for shoes in Sydney, I learned that “ugg” is largely not considered a brandname of shoes in Australia. “UGG Australia,” the brand that makes those ubiquitous boots indelibly assoiciated with Paris Hilton and the early 2000s, is actually an American brand, not an Australian one. In Australia, “ugg” is just a word to describe a type of sheepskin boot — not a particular brand.

Next Week:

Where I’m going: I thought I’d be lying low in Tokyo this week, but it turns out I’ll be heading to Seoul this week for a short trip. I never turn down an opportunity to go to Korea!

What I hope to accomplish: I really need to get back in focus with my Japanese studying. It’s really shocking how rusty you get with new languages in just a week or so. And traveling where nobody is speaking Japanese only adds to the rust.

This Week in Photos:

St. James Station in Sydney (right across the street from our hotel Sheraton on the Park)
Reflection pool in Sydney’s Hyde Park
Streets of Sydney (Oxford Street)
More street views of Sydney
Bondi Beach shops on a cloudy afternoon
Bondi Beach after the clouds cleared
A surfer at Bondi Beach
The coastal walk from Bondi Beach to Bronte Beach
Broadway in Sydney (near Glebe)
Manly Beach shops
Manly Wharf
Sydney’s Botanical Gardens
The iconic Sydney Opera House
Sydney’s Darling Harbour
Roppongi Hills Christmas Market

--

--

Maggie Reid
maggiesofar

American expat living in Tokyo. Lawyer, avid reader, foodie, crocheter, unashamed homebody.