a week in the life: november 6, 2017

Maggie Reid
maggiesofar
Published in
3 min readNov 12, 2017

In this Sunday series, I write down a little snippet of what I’ve been doing during the past week (with lots of pictures at the end). I also put down some goals and plans for the upcoming week as well. My hope is to share a bit of what my life as an expat is like on a more day-to-day basis.

This Week:

Where I went: Traveled to Hong Kong for the first time!

What I ate: Lots and lots. My favorite meal this week was a delicious dim sum breakfast in the Hong Kong countryside with the locals. Some of the new foods I tried while in Hong Kong included chicken feet, razor fish, fried fish skin, duck tongue, and geoduck. All pretty good, although the chicken feet had too many bones to deal with for my taste.

What I did: Burned incense and made a wish at the famous Wong Tai Sin temple in Hong Kong. Took the tram to the top of Victoria Peak for an enchanting, albeit foggy, view of Hong Kong. And lots more! I’m working on putting together some separate posts about all the awesome things we did in Hong Kong, so stay tuned.

What I learned: Cantonese is a very complicated language. I know that sounds obvious, right? But this weekend I was inundated with the language, and got the chance to ask my Hong Kong relatives some questions about it, and I was blown away. It actually makes learning Japanese seem like a breeze!

Next Week:

Where I’m going: I’m still in Hong Kong as of right now and will be heading back to Tokyo in a couple days. Then I’m off to Sydney at the end of the week!

What I hope to accomplish: I really need to get back to hitting the gym after a rather debaucherous few days of eating in Hong Kong. But mainly, my goal this week in between trips is to let my inner homebody take over: sofa, sweats, and a few books would be the ideal mid-week medicine.

This Week in Photos:

Ramen at Narita Airport’s Menya Kookai
Being classy on the plane to Hong Kong
View of Hong Kong from the Sheraton
Mong Kok shopping area in Hong Kong
Mong Kok street scene
Public Light Bus in Hong Kong — a much more local option compared to the double decker buses
Hong Kong view from the top of Victoria Peak
Confucian Hall at Wong Tai Sin
Dim Sum in Hong Kong at a locals’ restaurant in the New Territories
Steamed crab was one part of a massive seafood buffet in Hong Kong
Dried sausage and fish for sale on the street in Hong Kong

--

--

Maggie Reid
maggiesofar

American expat living in Tokyo. Lawyer, avid reader, foodie, crocheter, unashamed homebody.