a week in the life: october 30, 2017

Maggie Reid
maggiesofar
Published in
3 min readNov 6, 2017

In this Sunday series, I write down a little snippet of what I’ve been doing during the past week (with lots of pictures at the end). I also put down some goals and plans for the upcoming week as well. My hope is to share a bit of what my life as an expat is like on a more day-to-day basis.

This Week:

Where I went: There was some beautiful weather this week to take advantage of, so I took a long stroll through the quiet side streets of Naka-Meguro and wandered around the awesome vintage shops in the quirky Shimo-Kitazawa neighborhood.

What I ate: Tried the Pad Thai at Siam Thai Restaurant near Hibiya Station. I was impressed with the quality and value of the meal (a lunch entree comes with a salad, soup, sago, and coffee all for around 1000 yen). Went back to Mouko Tanmen Nakamoto Meguro, but tried a spicier ramen than I usually get (around a 6 on the scale). Always a satisfying meal, but this one made me sweat for sure!

What I did: Spent Sunday afternoon at the Oedo Antique Market in Yurakucho, the largest outdoor antique market in Tokyo. This was a great place to spend a few hours hunting for treasures, and while a lot of it was pretty expensive, I did manage to pick up a few cool trinkets that I’m very proud of. Also tried out the aged coffee at Cafe de L’Ambre in Ginza. A cool experience and a must for all coffee enthusiasts.

What I learned: I learned a new grammar construction in Japanese this week that’s giving me a hard time. It doesn’t really have a counterpart in English. It’s the “-n des” construction that’s used to show that you’re offering an explanation, apology, or excuse while reporting a fact.

Next Week:

Where I’m going: I’m very excited to be traveling to Hong Kong next week for the first time! I’ll be visiting with Keith’s extended family (who live there), eating all the foods, and taking lots of pictures.

What I hope to accomplish: Keith brought me lots of yarn back from the U.S. this week (what a good husband!) so I’m hoping to make some serious headway on the blanket I’ve been crocheting. My goal is to finish before we go home for the holidays!

This Week in Photos:

Naka-Meguro
Quiet side streets in Naka-Meguro
Cafe Chillax in Naka-Meguro
Vintage browsing in Shimo-Kitazawa
Cereal and ice cream bar in Shimo-Kitazawa
Quick cupcake and coffee stop at this stand in Shimo-Kitazawa
Vintage shopping in Shimo-Kitazawa
Pad Thai at Siam Thai Restaurant
Oedo Antique Market in Yurakucho
Browsing antiques at the Oedo Antique Market
Walking by Hibiya Station
Cafe de L’Ambre in Ginza
My 13-year-old Costa Rica coffee at Cafe de L’Ambre

--

--

Maggie Reid
maggiesofar

American expat living in Tokyo. Lawyer, avid reader, foodie, crocheter, unashamed homebody.