The Summer I Read A Book For The First Time

Hira.K
Magical Reading
Published in
2 min readDec 30, 2023
Photo by Olesia 🇺🇦 Buyar on Unsplash

As a toddler, I was fascinated by dolls, like every other girly-type girl. 'You used to be crazy over your dolls; you would bathe them, feed them, tuck them in their beds, and then repeat the cycle all over again,' as my mother recounts my fascination with them. However, in the summer of 2013, when I was in third grade, I started getting bored with them. Dressing my dolls was no longer a source of excitement to me.

In the same month, my elder sister gifted me 'Charlie And The Chocolate Factory.' Somehow, I was irresistibly drawn to that book. I read it once, twice, thrice—until I knew every single line by heart! I carried it everywhere with me, reminiscent of how I used to carry my dolls in the past. After reading it, I realized I needed to buy more books. So, that summer I sought solace in the world of literature.

Ever since I read my first book, my appetite for books has increased. Even now, amidst the hustle of high school, I try to read as often as my schedule permits. For me, books are like talkative friends, each with its own myriad of tales to share. A companion I can bring anywhere—on a journey, in the school cafeteria, or even in a jam-packed cafe! I consider myself extremely lucky to have tasted the magic of books. If it hadn’t been for my love for "Charlie and the Chocolate Factory," I might not have experienced the joy of exploring so many wonderful stories.

Over the years my taste in books has changed too. As a 5th-grader, I enjoyed reading works of “Roald Dhal” and “Montgomery”. Then in middle school I diverted my attention towards Charles Dickens and Mark Twain. Now, in highschool I am interested in biographies and non-fiction stories.

So, this has been my journey with books so far. My bookshelf has loads of books and I plan to add many more on it. In my opinion, a person who doesn’t like reading books hasn’t ever lived.

About me: I am a high-school student passionate about sharing my take on the world. I write blogs on Life|Success|Teenage. Help me get medium membership by buying me a coffee on buy me a coffee😁

CLAP|COMMENT|FOLLOW

I will meet you in my next article :⁠-⁠)

--

--

Hira.K
Magical Reading

An A-Level student 👨‍🎓passionate over blogging📄 and learning french 🇫🇷. Follow for Blogs on Productivity|Education|Teenage.