Things I Learned Living Without A Mobile For One Day

We used to enjoy ourselves with our friends and have great conversations.

Vinod Kumar Kashyap
Magical Writers Cafe
4 min readMay 13, 2024

--

Photo by Matheus G.O on Unsplash

The day before yesterday, I visited my cousin who lives in the countryside. There was no special occasion; it was to meet and spend time. My mother was with me, too.

I spent one whole day there. However, my carrier did not have a signal in that region, so I spent that day without any internet or network. We sat on the verandah, reflecting on our childhood adventures and laughing at old family stories.

“The best gift you can give anyone is to spend quality time with them.”
― Laurence Overmire

There were no calls from anyone and no distractions of any type. At first, I started to get bored, as I used to spend lots of time on the Internet. The problem is that I still need to take books with me.

It’s not easy to break the habit of constantly checking our phones, but it’s worth breaking for our relationships.

Then I thought, I used to spend lots of time without mobiles when I was a child. I remember the days when I used to play with my friends and didn’t have any problems with us.

We used to enjoy ourselves with our friends and have great conversations. We used to have a good time with family. We talked and laughed together.

“The amount of time you spend interceding for others is a testimony to the love you have for them.”
― Bobby Gene Redding

But now we miss all these due to increased mobile exposure. We cannot live without these small machines. They have become a part of our everyday routine, helping us stay connected and informed.

However, we must find a balance and keep them from consuming all our time.

I had a fantastic conversation with my cousin and other relatives. Without a network, there was no tension about picking up the phone and receiving calls as no signals were there.

I spent a day similar to the day 20 years ago. We need to focus and prioritize. We are becoming robots who are just with mobiles for longer hours.

It’s a harsh reality that relationship problems are on the rise. We used to spend quality time with our spouses, but now, our mobiles constantly divide our attention.

They have become a barrier, preventing us from truly connecting with our loved ones.

“Relationships are built on small, consistent deposits of time. You can’t cram for what’s most important. If you want to connect with your kids, you’ve got to be available consistently, not randomly.”
― Andy Stanley

Children are decreasing their concentration power. It is because of the mobiles we have with us. Children spend more time watching short videos, which, in turn, reduces their concentration time.

Similarly, mobiles play an essential part in relationships. It would be best if you kept your mobiles outside of your bedroom.

Please chat with your partner and spend the end of the day with them. Talk and share your experiences of the day.

It will help you resolve many relationship issues. But it will be tough for some. We are glued to our mobiles all the time. Now, they have become a part of our bodies.

“I sustain myself with the love of family.”
― Maya Angelou

With mobiles, life is nothing for some. However, we can regain control and prioritize our relationships with self-discipline and conscious effort.

I remember everything about the day I spent without a phone: the conversation, that laugh, everything. Most of the stress was released when I had gone there.

You are free from all distractions of your life. There will be none to call or distract you, apart from your family. Only those people are essential, not the people who call you.

Remember, you are living with your family, and you will live with them until your last breath. It’s crucial to make the most of this time.

Remove all distractions and start spending quality time with them. These moments are precious and irreplaceable.

“Let us make one point, that we meet each other with a smile, when it is difficult to smile. Smile at each other, make time for each other in your family.”
― Mother Teresa

You can start by switching off phones before going to bed for two hours and spending that time with your family.

Use this time to talk, play games, or enjoy each other’s company. Gradually, you can increase the time spent with your family, making it a routine.

When you are comfortable switching off mobiles for two hours, you can plan a day in a week without a mobile. That day, you will switch off the mobile for the whole day.

Take a digital detox and see how your life changes. You might find yourself more present in the moment, enjoying the company of your loved ones without distractions.

--

--

Vinod Kumar Kashyap
Magical Writers Cafe

Digital Writer & Storyteller | Bringing Visions to Life Through Premium Ghostwriting​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​