Jumpstarting our career was the best thing we did

Ophelia Spowers
Magnetic Notes
Published in
5 min readDec 14, 2020

What happened when Shriya and Ophelia had a casual Zoom catch-up

Shriya and Ophelia both started their careers at Fluxx when they put themselves forward for Jumpstart; our programme for entry-level joiners. Since joining us in 2018 and 2019 respectively, Shriya and Ophelia secured permanent roles and have worked on some really exciting projects with well known clients across a number of industries. Jumpstart is a chance for inquisitive self-starters to launch their career in innovation, and Shriya and Ophelia did just that.

Shriya and Ophelia caught up for a coffee and a chat over Zoom to reflect on their career journeys so far.

O: I’m so glad I took the chance and went along to one of Fluxx’s Meet-ups. That’s where I found out more about Jumpstart, and it also introduced me to the world of Design Thinking. How did you find out about it, Shriya?

S: I actually joined Fluxx on a Grad Scheme in 2018. I learnt so much and it was a great scheme, but like most things there was room for improvement. We held a retrospective meeting to look at what went well and what could be improved and from that we worked on a new version, which we now call Jumpstart. I immediately knew Fluxx was the best fit for me as they listened, adapted, sent me on a course to upskill in this area and gave me autonomy to get on and do it. We experimented with a new version and it worked well.

O: That’s really cool that you designed the programme I went on — thanks for improving it and making my experience brilliant :)

S: You’re welcome! Why did you apply?

O: I worked in Marketing straight after uni, but soon realised it’s not for me; although it spoke to my creative side, I always felt like something was missing. When I went along to a Fluxx event, I instantly fell in love with the fresh thinking attitude and the buzz that surrounds a room full of people having open-minded conversations and stretching their brains.

S: What’s the first thing you started working on?

O: I spent my first week getting to know the people and business and by week two I was on client work. After helping out with HSBC innovation training workshops in my second week my first major client project was with Cazoo, the online second-hand car retailer that has recently been valued at over £2 billion, and is the fastest-ever startup to reach ‘unicorn’ status in the UK. It was my first real taste of using in-depth customer research and experimentation to uncover insights and validate our assumptions around a proposition. The momentum and excitement surrounding that startup was palpable when working with their team and it’s something I’ll never forget, especially as it was my first project! What about you?

Fluxxers Ophelia and Toby at an HSBC Innovation Training Workshop at our offices.

S: What an exciting project to work on! My first project was also a big one — we worked with Croydon council and multiple utilities companies to create a culture of collaboration and data sharing and save years of disruption to the public. Seeing the collaboration happening live in front of you — and solving a tricky problem that had a real impact on people — was a big first and an absolute highlight.

Fluxxers Shriya and Jack working on saving time and money on the Croydon Utilities Project

O: What type of skills or personality traits do you think make a good JumpStarter?

S: You have to be a self-starter, and not afraid to admit you don’t have all the answers and to ask questions.

O: Yes I’d agree and I’d also add being willing to put yourself outside your comfort zone, make mistakes and learn from them. That’s how you grow quickly and one of the objectives of the programme. It’s good to have a blend of skills; from an analytical side when faced with a lot of data, to problem solving skills to having an empathetic ear, particularly when conducting customer research.

S: What’s the best piece of career advice you’ve received?

O: Think of your career within a set of guiding principles. Once you’ve defined what matters to you and what you want to achieve, it will help you navigate any current and future career decisions you have to make. Rather than having a strict plan, guidelines give you the direction and the flexibility you need to realise your ambitions and take advantage of any opportunities that come your way.

S: I’d agree with that — the other piece i’d add is don’t be afraid of failure! You quickly learn at Fluxx that spending as much time as possible outside of your comfort zone is the best place you can be. It’s like growing pains. It can be a little uncomfortable at the time but you know that you’re going to be an inch taller after the experience! We learn most when we take small risks and sometimes that involves making mistakes and learning from them, and that’s ok.

O: What would you say to anyone who is looking to join a Grad-or similar type scheme?

S: Graduates tend to get too nervous about who they are, and talk from their CV. We value people who are real. Try and build on knowledge rather than just complementing or pleasing people. Always remember to be true to yourself.

For 6 months you’ll receive supported, hands-on immersion into the world of innovation consulting with exposure to multiple clients and industries. At the end of The Jumpstart Programme, if we both think it’s a good fit, there’s a permanent role available. Our 2021 Jumpstart Programme is now closed, but if you’re you’re an inquisitive self-starter looking to launch your career in innovation get in touch at talent@fluxx.uk.com.

Ophelia Spowers and Shriya Bishnoi are Consultants at Fluxx. For more info on the work we do check out these links or get in touch at Ophelia.Spowers@Fluxx.uk.com and Shriya.Bishnoi@Fluxx.uk.com. Interested in Fluxx events? Check out the ‘virtual events’ section on our website.

--

--