Swati Turns Her Career Break into Success, Doubling Business Income with Mahila Money Loan

Mahila Money
Mahila Money
Published in
4 min readMay 23, 2024

Returning to the workforce not as an employee but as an entrepreneur, Swati is on her way to making her mark in the reselling business industry.

*73% of women take a break from their careers during pregnancy, and amongst those who return, 48% quit within four months of returning to the workforce.

35-year-old Swati Bakshi not only came back but went a step further; she started her business.

How it all started…

Swati’s journey as a business owner began when she decided to take a break from her full-time job to start a family. After having two children, she longed to return to work and utilise her skills and experience. However, with young children at home, Swati knew that starting a traditional 9–5 job would not be feasible. That’s when she had the idea to start her own business — selling women’s clothing. She had always been passionate about fashion and saw this as a way to combine her love of clothing with the flexibility she needed as a mother.

A growing venture…

Swati began by selling her products through the Facebook marketplace and to her friends and family. She started small, with a limited inventory of sarees, Kurtis, leggings, and children’s apparel, and earned a decent earning of 10–12K. “Every sale felt like a victory, a step closer to my dreams. I was happy because I was finally contributing to the family’s expenses. Having some money makes you confident and earns you respect, “ says Swati.

Accompanied by ever-growing demands…

Swati lived in a rented house with her husband, two children, mother-in-law, and two brothers-in-law, and she realised that her earnings were insufficient to meet the family’s growing needs. “I had a good customer base, but struggled to make more money with limited stock. I learned the only solution to my problem was business expansion,” shares Swati.

“One of the main barriers I faced to expand my business was a lack of capital. But I didn’t give up.

Instead, I started exploring options that would help me expand my business, and that’s when I heard about Mahila Money, a platform specifically designed for women entrepreneurs, “ says Swati excitedly.

She applied for a loan through the app, hoping it would provide the capital she needed to take her business to the next level. After filling out the application and providing the necessary documentation, Swati was approved for a loan of INR 15,000. She used the disbursed amount to purchase more stock and expand her inventory, including a broader range of clothing options for women of all sizes and ages.

The rising…

With the additional capital, Swati was able to improve the quality and variety of her products, attracting more customers and increasing her sales. “From INR 10–12K, I started earning INR 20–25k per month, nearly double what I was making before I received the loan”, says Swati with a smile on her face.

But the impact of the loan didn’t just stop at Swati’s business…

It also had a ripple effect on her personal life. With the increased income, Swati and her husband could pay off some of their debts and save for their children’s education.

Just a beginning…

“My customers aren’t just customers — they’re family, neighbours, and friends,” Swati shares with a smile, “and I’m grateful to all of them. Every challenge made me stronger and more determined to succeed,” Swati reflects. And as she looks to the future, Swati knows the sky’s the limit. “I’m excited to see where this journey takes me next,” Swati says optimistically. The journey is just beginning for Swati Bakshi, and we can’t wait to see where it takes her next.

If you are a woman entrepreneur who wants to take your business to new heights and is in need of working capital and entrepreneurship resources, come speak to us on Mahila Money. For more such #JiyoApneDumPe live conversations, download the Mahila Money App on Play Store or visit us on www.mahila.money

*https://www.outlookbusiness.com/the-big-story-1/lead-story-8/failing-women-with-fine-intent-6729

--

--