I’m sure you have a lot of questions

Finance, Software, Cooking, Short Story, Poetry … something is not adding up?

Mahir Kothary
mahirk
3 min readMar 29, 2017

--

Ever since I can remember, I have been interested in a variety of things that come my way, but out of all of those a few stuck. All of these are not necessarily related, nor are any of them topics in which I believe I am the foremost authority. But as I have learnt in the past, it is important to be able to showcase those interests in any way possible, some privately, some publicly. By profession I am a software engineer, but by interests I want to be so much more — writer, stock broker, chef, activist. But realistically thats not all possible, so this blog is the means of doing that. It may be that no one reads this, it may be that it becomes widely successful.

Finance

Somewhere in 2014–2015 I took a couple of Accounting classes at school and absolutely loved them, I had several ideas which came up as a result of the classes and more so I started realizing everything that I could do to help save and to invest. More over to use that knowledge to help manage my own expenses and adventures. The purpose however of writing under this tag however is to try and improve my knowledge on the topic, share ideas and discuss on investments and budgeting.

Software

Writing better software is a continuous work in progress which can always be better, once in a while you reach a problem which has no viable immediate solution or your solution is mixture of stack overflow pages or just trying again and again. I love documenting my work and being able to know the solutions later. That’s primarily what I want to cover through here, I’ll be listing that documentation in the hopes that it helps someone figure that solution to the problem.

Cooking

Started with cheese stuffed mushrooms because that was the most fun. And then came college where cooking became a way to let go of my stress, all of the weird combinations of having thepla (Indian bread) with Maggi (Indian Top ramen) along with some chhunda (Indian … oh nevermind) culminated into a passion of mixing ingredients to make (sometimes good?) tasting dishes. Maybe you could try it out and tell me what you think 😓

Short Story & Poetry

And finally, the whole premise of this post as been to tell you my writing is not the best and continuing with the same motif, a passion of mine has been writing, whether it is a poem or part of a story or a short story. Writing it here will keep me on track to write and publish and also help me get any feedback.

All in all the purpose of the blog is just for me to publish my work in some way, to document any experience or thought I have had instead of keeping it to myself.

If you have any feedback, feel free to comment here or to DM me on Twitter

Here goes nothing.

Thanks to Arnavi Chheda

--

--

Mahir Kothary
mahirk
Editor for

@Cornell_Tech | Previously @HBO, @BeShippable, Team @Dubhacks, Student at University of Washington @UWCSE