I write. Therefore, I am.

Rishi Jha
maice
Published in
3 min readJul 10, 2018

--

As a child, you grow up listening to tales narrated by your grandparents. Some fascinate, some inspire while some go down the lane of beautiful memories. Those stories give children some insight into the world around them. So, was I inspired as a child to pen down my thoughts? Not at all! It’s India and when a boy is born here, he thinks of being a cricketer and nothing else.
Growing up, I was not interested in literature at all. As the years passed, I matured and could appreciate the written word. There wasn’t just a single thing that inspired me to write; there were three.

Football

Football is a big pull for me. Reading the work of professional sports journalists exposed me to the writing styles, content, and the ingenuity that is needed to be a successful sports blogger. I have my own football page on Facebook through which I express my thoughts on the game, players, clubs, countries, etc. The passion in this game is what attracts the most, and you get a chance to jot down everything you feel.

Inspirational Speeches

A few weeks ago, while randomly scrolling through my social feed, I came across one of the nicest things I had ever heard. It was a scene from the movie, “Rocky Balboa” where a father is cheering up his son. He says, “Let me tell you something you already know — The world ain’t all sunshine and rainbows. It’s a very mean and nasty place and I don’t care how tough you are it will beat you to your knees and keep you there permanently if you let it. You, me, or nobody is gonna hit as hard as life. But it ain’t about how hard ya hit. It’s about how hard you can get hit and keep moving forward. How much you can take and keep moving forward. That’s how winning is done”. This encourages me to write something that can motivate people to just do it and never give up.

Expression

Writing, for me, is a channel to focus my energies. I might not have people around me to listen, but I always have a pen and my trusted notebook. Many people are inspired to write when they are emotional or vulnerable. Writing is an excellent way to make sense of our emotions, to express ourselves in a way that perhaps we can’t do out loud, and to be completely honest with ourselves about the way we feel.

This is just a start for me. I hope that someday I can write, inspire, motivate, and encourage people. Even if they are few. Only then, I would feel my purpose in life has been achieved.

Note from the editor: Rishikesh (or, as he is affectionately known, Rishi) is a new addition to the writing world. As always, he is eager to learn and grow into this new role. At maice, we are creating a community of writers who just don’t write for the heck of it, but love what they do. Follow us here for more content and stories. Check out our website by clicking here. Register and your story could be the next here.

--

--