From Coding to Content, I found my Content

Mitali Raval
maice
Published in
3 min readAug 2, 2018

A Computer Engineer when it comes to Education, A Reader when it comes to Theoretical Profession and A writer when it comes to applying this Theory to Life!

Confused? Let me take you to where it all started.

It started with me working as a Software Engineer at an MNC and the initial 3 months of training felt like I would enjoy working with codes and building software but real world is different then what we always imagine!

I was assigned in a Support project and despite all my efforts to get other projects where they can actually exploit my capacities, they chose to pay me without any work. Eventually, I resigned(Aug’17) without any backup job by going against all the worldly advises from everyone who becomes a Gyani at giving free advises.

I didn’t know what would my Life be after this decision yet I never looked back. I enrolled myself for being a Life Adviser under one of my relative. I got one policy under my name(helped by one of my College Professor) that kept me going for another month(Sep’17).

Now, all I did when I was a Software Engineer was reading Travel Blogs, Planning Trips for weekend and contacting Photojournalists. During the months of May and June, I started using Instagram actively and started networking immensely.

Fortunately, it landed me my current Job at a Digital Marketing Company! I just contacted the Co-founder of this company to applaud their efforts for bringing something new in my Small Town and ended up getting a Content Writing job!

Well, I didn’t know anything about writing then. I just wrote a few poems by that time.

So in the end of Oct’17, I started at my current company as a writer and now in a span of around 7 months, I am handling most of the content management stuff and I am a Content Strategist now(Well, I do more than just working on content because in a Start-up you play every possible role other than just your Job Title!)

The Phase-2 of my Content Writing Story

I had done enough networking through Instagram and got a Whistling Gig and a Photography Gig(They haven’t paid yet though!) and in Jan’18, I installed LinkedIn in my phone.

Initially, I was a passive user, it didn’t interest me much but then after a while, I updated a few things in my profile and somehow, a client approached me on LinkedIn for Freelance project. Hence, I took up my first project as a freelancer of Rewriting News Article.

I realized then that I can use LinkedIn to earn a little extra! Slowly, I learnt how to use it, I started by posting the blogs I wrote for my company. This took me further and then I worked for 2 other projects.

Then the Hammer Hit the right spot, when I actually started expressing myself through the medium of LinkedIn, I saw other people’s profile, I noted down whatever I had learned in the time period of 6 months and updated my profile again!

Then I started interacting with people on LinkedIn and Now I have a section of LinkedIn Connections on my Phone Contact List!

Now after 9 months of hustling around, I have my own little can I say Business? and have 3 people working in my team!

And another milestone, I am writing on Medium and that is due to one of my LinkedIn Connection, Abhishek, with whom I contacted to know more about Maice and that got me started with Writing here!

One thing I would like to say to everyone is that keep talking to as many people as you can, keep learning something from everyone you come across because you never know when you can land a job or make lifelong friends or even mentors!

Note from the publication: At maice, we are creating a marketing platform that prepares writers and marketers for the future of content marketing. Register on our website to know more when we launch. Follow us on LinkedIn here.Interested in writing for our publication? Click here to submit your details and you will be added. We reward good stories too.

--

--