Flight: Physical or Abstract?

Emily Mam
Mail Art
Published in
Feb 20, 2021

Not gonna lie, I struggled with this one a bit. What do I associate with the idea of flight? My mind felt blank, and there wasn’t much to inspire me from the Downtown Providence magazine I had in my hand.

But I had flown, and it was my first time experience Providence, and my little sheet was looking more and more like a postcard. Travel popped into my head. As I kept cutting and rearranging my little scraps of skyline, they just seemed to flow into one another. Suddenly I’m looking at this transition from pink to black, nature to cityscape, and flight becomes passage through time and space.

And yet, with the bell tower and the trees, there is something very physical about height. I couldn’t help but add a couple of feathers.

--

--